Just Hit 60 Rep! TheBloodyCritique's 10 Favourite Films Of All Time List.

in #steemit7 years ago

  TheBloodyCritique’s 10 Favourite Films of all Time

  

Hello Steemians! I’ve recently started posting reviews for the Films and T.V. Shows I’ve been watching at the moment and have just noticed I’ve hit 60 reputation! So to celebrate I thought I’d give you a list of my ten favourite films of all time, it wasn’t easy and there’s a possibility it could change slightly depending on my mood, but it’s as perfect as I could get it for now, so here it is, these are my 10 favourite films! 

  

10. American Psycho Release: 2000. Director: Mary Harron. Starring: Christian Bale, Willem Dafoe, Reese Witherspoon & Jared Leto.   This is by far my favourite Christian Bale performance of all time; it’s going to be impossible for him to top this, his portrayal of Patrick Bateman was hilarious, disturbing and worryingly relatable! Cleanliness, organisation and graphic murder fantasies to help escape a life of mediocrity, American Psycho comes in at 10th on my list, I can’t believe how low it’s rated on Rotten Tomatoes, 68%? This is a fucking classic! Fun fact for ya as well, Christian Bale actually based his performance on Tom Cruise, describing him as extremely friendly but with nothing behind the eyes.

   

09. The Good, the Bad and the Ugly Release: 1966. Director: Sergio Leone. Starring: Clint Eastwood, Eli Wallach & Lee Van Cleef.   This Western classic has Clint Eastwood at his very coolest and excellent performances from both Eli Wallach and Lee Van Cleef. Full of atmosphere, tension and an epic tale of a search for buried gold, it’s always been a favourite and comes in on my list at a respectable 9th place. Sergio Leone only has a handful of films under his belt, a flawless collection of classics and this is his best, an argument can certainly be made for Once Upon a Time in America, but for me it’s The Good, the Bad and the Ugly every time!

   

08. Fight Club Release: 1999. Director: David Fincher. Starring: Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, Helena Bonham Carter, Meat Loaf & Jared Leto.   David Fincher is a master of filmmaking, everything he touches turns to gold, everything except The Curious Case of Benjamin Button! Fight Club is a film with fantastic characters, an excellent story and a deeper message that still holds true today, and although I saw the twist coming I still enjoy it and love everything it represents. Being a mainstream film about the distain for material things and the mediocrity of social norms makes Fight Club a paradox, I love that about it and it comes in at 8th place on my list. 

   

07. Pulp Fiction Release: 1994. Director: Quentin Tarantino. Starring: Bruce Willis, Samuel L. Jackson, Uma Thurman, John Travolta & Harvey Keitel.   I grew up on Quentin Tarantino films, especially those original three Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown and I love his recent films as well, you know what you’re getting with Tarantino and he delivers every time! He still hasn’t though and probably won’t ever top his masterpiece Pulp Fiction! This was him at his creative peak, put together like a Chinese puzzle with fantastic dialogue, timeless characters and excellent performances, Pulp Fiction holds a sexy 7th place, he transcended a genre and continues to do so and wave his foot fetish in everyone’s face!

   

06. Terminator 2: Judgement Day Release: 1991. Director: James Cameron. Starring: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Edward Furlong & Robert Patrick.   I’ve been a fan of both Terminator films since I was a kid, the other three are irrelevant and don’t matter, this is James Cameron at his best and by far the best and most fitting performance for Arnold Schwarzenegger! Everything about this film is perfect, Linda Hamilton was second to none and Edward Furlong and Robert Patrick both deliver memorable performances as well, I love the story, I love the action, I’m not an action guy at all but if it’s going to be done, this is how you do it! Terminator 2: Judgement Day comes in at 6th place. 

  

05. The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Release: 2002. Director: Peter Jackson. Starring: Elijah Wood, Sean Astin, Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis, Orlando Bloom & Viggo Mortensen.   I love the world The Lord of the Rings takes place in, I love the fantasy and I love the epic adventure, Peter Jackson took the genre to its peak when he created this trilogy and my favourite of the three is The Two Towers, there’s nothing quite like these films, they’re like the ultimate escape, and given the extremely long length of 196 hours, you can get lost for a while! I love the whole trilogy and I think it peaks during The Two Towers which comes in at 5th place on my epic list!  

 

04. The Shawshank Redemption Release: 1994. Director: Frank Darabont. Starring: Tim Robbins & Morgan Freeman.   I’ve always been a fan of prison films and none have reached the heights achieved by Frank Darabont with The Shawshank Redemption. This is a tale for the ages, I absolutely love the story and Darabont’s direction is flawless! This is an extremely well written film with memorable characters and excellent performances from Tim Robbins, Morgan Freeman and the entire supporting cast, The Shawshank Redemption holds a solid 4th place on my list; it’s an epic story of redemption against all odds in a flawed and corrupt prison system and I love shit like that!   

03. Taxi Driver Release: 1976. Director: Martin Scorsese. Starring: Robert De Niro, Jodie Foster & Harvey Keitel.   Martin Scorsese is probably the most consistently masterful director there is or ever has been, he’s yet to make a disappointing or even subpar film to this day, it’s in his blood, he was born to direct movies and it’s evident why, I’m a fan of all of his films but none have touched me quite like Taxi Driver has, he captured that feeling of isolation and loneliness in Travis Bickle and De Niro was perfect for the role! Also featuring an excellent performance from then child actor Jodie Foster, Taxi Driver is a timeless classic and it’s a firm 3rd place on my list.

   

02. Apocalypto Release: 2006. Director: Mel Gibson. Starring: Rudy Youngblood.   Apocalypto is one of the most unexpectedly amazing films I’ve ever seen and honestly how could anyone prepare for this? It’s a fucking rollercoaster from beginning to end and I loved every second of it! There’s nothing else quite like it, Mel Gibson proved his genius with Apocalypto and Rudy Youngblood was absolutely perfect for the lead role, there’s very little dialogue but you feel his emotion and determination every step of the way, it’s brutal, it’s emotional and it’s gripping, Apocalypto is a masterpiece and comes in at 2nd place. 

  

01. The Matrix Release: 1999. Director: The Wachowski Brothers. Starring: Keanu Reeves, Laurence Fishburne, Carrie-Anne Moss & Hugo Weaving.   And the number one spot goes to, The Matrix, released in 1999 but still as beautiful CGI wise as it was then, The Matrix is my favourite film of all time, I love the characters, I love the writing, the direction is perfect and beyond all, I love this story and this world! Again, I’m not an action guy, I usually find action to be stupid and not believable but never has there been a better justification for over the top action than the realms of the matrix, it was fucking awesome! This film is a timeless classic and the deeper messages contained within it will live on in popular culture forever, the Wachowski brothers haven’t done anything else of worth since The Matrix, and they didn’t before it either but fuck me they hit a home run with this one, all the stars must have aligned for them to create this, must be a fucking miracle after seeing Jupiter Ascending Jesus Christ! I’ll never get bored of The Matrix and I love this film so much I enjoy Reloaded and Revolutions as guilty pleasures! The Matrix swaggers in at 1st place and I’ve just found out the Wachowski brothers have both undergone sex changes and are now the Wachowski sisters, FYI. 

  

So that’s my list, thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed, did you agree with my list, what are your 10 favourite films?   

Sort:  

great post good movie choices

Thank you!

fantastic list!! Great job getting to 60 Rep as well, your reviews are amazing, you have serious knack for this!

Couldn't do it without you!

Thanks man for your lovely post... From today i will start watching movie from your movie list,,, then I will let you know my expression.....

You won't be disappointed!

Great post @bloodycritique . From what I saw according to your choice, you kinda have a thing for 'heavy movie'. Great by the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53