A Bottle with Yellowed Paper #Shortstory

in #steemit6 years ago

message in bottle.jpg

When I was ten I found a bottle with a piece of yellowed paper in it. When I tried to open it, Mom got mad. "Do not ever open the bottle!" she yelled angrily. "It belongs to Grandpa. You will make a disaster in this family." It was the first time I saw her angry.

When I was in high school, I needed old newspapers for my homework. "There're some old newspapers your Grandpa had in a suitcase in attic," Mom said.

I found the suitcase. But it contained only papers and blurred photographs. The letters in papers were hard to read. Only some words still read: "communist", "atheist", "1965". A picture made me startled: The man stood holding a machete. At his feet laid several bodies with no heads. He looked like Grandpa. I panicked. But I just kept it for my self.

I forgot about the suitcase until Grandpa died. After the funeral, Mom gave me the bottle. "Grandpa asked me to give this to you," she said.

I sat in the terrace. The bottle was on my lap. It seemed to look at me and I remembered the machete.


Total WordsImage sourceCategory
191PixabaySTACH Short Story
Contest #22 by @stach

#blogiwankwriting #writing #ksijakarta #indonesia #steemitbudaya #steem #steemit #budaya #art #life #story #shortstory


Recent Posts


I hope you love my work. Please upvote, resteem and follow @blogiwank if you want to support me.

Semoga tulisan ini bermanfaat. Kalau Anda mendukung saya untuk menulis artikel-artikel semacam ini, tolong Upvote dan Resteem artikel ini. Silahkan pula follow saya @blogiwank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44