Steemit Idea Proposal: Predictive Reward Display on Slider Bar

in #steemit8 years ago

Overview:

  • Give users a live estimate of how much their rewards will be worth based on slider bar input percentage;
  • Give users an estimate of their remaining voting power based on slider bar input percentage.

Purpose:

Since the dynamics of voting power and what each vote is worth is now far more controllable, to add more control over those factors, more metrics should be added to indicate to the user what the result of their actions will be. Basically, this is like adding a speedometer to a car that you've been driving blindly for a while.

Justification:

  • Should enhance intuitive understanding of the reward/voting mechanism on Steemit;
  • Improves user control over their votes based on recognizable metrics (like the dollar amount and percentage of power remaining);

Note: I also really liked @jesta 's idea of Voting Tokens that he put out last night. This may be a simple move in the direction of enhancing user intuition about what's going on under the hood.

Sort:  

A rough preview of what I'm seeing in my head --

that would be useful indeed! I suppose it's just a function

I like this. But I think I'd like to have the slider a one step process. I can slide it if I want, and then click it anythime on that article.
A floating upvote tool was recommended by someone. Was that you?
Seems like having the slider vertical on the side, along with the upvote button and amount like you proposed, floating so it's always in reach, would be a nice convenient improvement.

Very nice! Hope they implement something like this!

This seems like a good idea. I just want to make clear that I do not see this as a away to sanitize the proposed 5 vote change in the latest release. That proposed change is a big mistake. But your suggestion is exactly the kind of innovation we need on the site. Rather than tinkering with things that don't need to be fixed and putting through changes that drive people away, they should be looking at site enhancements, apps, better retention. etc. Let's get some new people here and work to keep them.

If your suggestion could be implemented without making the site seem overly complicated , I'm all for it. I also wonder if we can have some "simple" and "richer" layouts for the site. People like me will probably stay with the simple interface most of the time, but if someone could click a button and change the view on their screen to include more features they want, that would be great. Fun features, real time communication, useful tools, analytics; it would be great if we could just have those but not clutter up the simple view too much. Give people the click-click option of changing view screens for their interface. I think that would give us the best of both worlds and help us retain more people who prefer one or the other.

definitely in line with getting more people and most importantly increase retention. Not sure if people realize, but we are still a very enclosed ecosystem. There have been a few steemers with big followership on other platform who have introduced steemit to their followers. I'm gonna try and play my part in this too.

All of this. I want those options, and I want to be able to switch back to a simplified ui. It's what I've been expecting eventually

That would be truly open-source

I haven't seen the 5 vote proposal. Who posted it?

You can't predict the curation award because it is dependent on who votes after you. If no-one else votes, then the prediction might be correct. But say someone flags the post? Then it's wrong. Say a whale votes, then it's also wrong.

Then the price of steem at teh time of payout comes into it as well. Too many variables.

Sounds like a cool idea. I like it!

@blakemiles84 you nailed it! I was so wanting this the other day. Hopefully, they can implement it.

Wouldnt the reward depend on how well the post did?

I'm starting to feel like there are too many cooks in the kitchen. @jesta's idea is interesting, but it would create a psychological effect of "paying" (in tokens) to promote content. That goes against the genius that is Steemit in that people get paid without any form of microtipping involved. The white paper explains this well.

If any estimates like this were shown it would (IMO) only further increase the (sometimes out of whack) expectations already created here. I can see it now. There would be so many posts by people complaining about suggested payouts being wildly inaccurate because future votes (or lack of them). Isn't the curation reward completely dependent on the total payout which is completely unknown until the final payout amount? The site already has plenty of gamification and monetization techniques built in. Do we really need to increase them? The interface simplicity is one of the things I love the most about this site. It would be sad to see it get overly confused for new users.

To be clear, I'm not against sharing of new ideas and exploring new concepts. I think it's wonderful. I just hope the ideas are measured and thought through with the same level of psychological and game theory understanding as the founders put into what we enjoy now.

Hmm. I was hoping for it to show exactly how much your vote would be worth at that price at that voting power percentage level, just so the user can get an idea of exactly how much their vote will be worth to the content creator.

We on the same page? I agree with what you said above...

Ah, sorry. Thanks for clarifying. I misunderstood what you meant to be about suggesting curation rewards as opposed to vote $ amount. Clearly I was too rushed when I read your post and commented. :)

All gravy, baby! :)

I knew what you REALLY meant heh

good idea, i used to switch to steemstats to see my voting power. That would be nice if they integrate this key info right on steemit

Интересная идея.

okay I'm still confused, when I went to go upvote you I didnt' see no slider. How do you see this slider?

I believe that the slider only kicks in after you have a certain amount of Steempower, 300 If I recall correctly. You'll get there soon and then you'll see that option as well.

Great idea man I just did a similar post and @lukestokes just pointed this post out to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39