You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bots are Ruining the Mainstream Potential of Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

So how do you propose to eliminate the use of bots in an open source platform?

I honestly see a lot of complaining but not much in the way of solutions.

Still fail to see what the problem is. Bots are programmed by humans to perform specific tasks... that HUMANS want them to perform.

I fear a community of petty dictators and tyrants far more than I fear a community full of bots and cat pictures getting $1000.

One of those paths normally ends in violence. No thanks.

Sort:  

I wish you would summarize a little here where you comment, because I'm hesitant to leave this discussion to read something else and potentially go down a rabbit hole. But I will check it out later.

We can eliminate bots by adding a captcha system at login. We can also ban all currently known bots. Steemit can also hire a moderation team.

The bots that are useful, such as @wang and @cheetah, should not have social interactions with the user. Instead, the ideas behind them should be used in a non-social way. I've highlighted these solutions in the article, they are simple solutions, but I believe they can be effective.

That assumes a few things:
a) bots programmed in any language won't be able to interact with the blockchain anymore (this is less 'free', not more since people create these bots),
b) how do we 'ban' accounts?
c) should we have the power to ban accounts?
d) the community is willing to give up their power to moderate things themselves and put it in the hands of a chosen few.

These aren't solutions you offer. Only a return to the same systems most of us are trying to escape from.

I never said "bots programmed in any language won't be able to interact with the blockchain anymore"... I said that the bots that are useful shouldn't have social interactions on the site. Why can't they can do this type of work without spamming the website? I know the answer already... $$

Instead of short term gain, we should look at the long game.

Since I won't get anywhere with you on points b, c, and d, which are all the same, I won't bother to address it. So fine, no moderators. I still think bots shouldn't post, or upvote, or flag.

Go ahead, just automate everything and take humans out of the equation. I'm sure these big corporations will want to jump on board to advertise to a userbase that is full of automated bots, that's when the value of Steem will surely skyrocket, a bot based community that does all the work! It's genius!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64