How to gain over 100 followers in less than 1 week on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

There have been a lot of things going on in my life this week: I was relieved I finished my last academic finals week ever for my undergraduate career, I was delighted I earned a degree from the #3 Microbiology department on the planet, I was sorrowful I broke up with my now ex-girlfriend, and I am ecstatic I gained more than 100 followers having been on Steemit for less than 1 week.

It’s been one hell of a roller coaster to say the least. In this post I will discuss the exact principles I followed in order to gain my followers this past week.   

Content is Key
  

It goes without being said that you need to produce good content. The only post I have made thus far on Steemit was my introductory post. I worked hard to accomplish the things in my life and I was proud sharing them with the Steemit community for the first time. I believe I conveyed this pride well in my post.

 A good post will have pictures, headings, and will convey an emotionally charged message that only you can write. That personal touch is what will separate you from the sea of content that Steemit has to offer. 

The only way to get better at creating quality content is by making more content. Don’t get paralyzed by writing the perfect post. Just write.   

Engage and Follow other Steemians 

Engagement is the other necessary component to gaining followers. To get fans, you need to be a fan of other people. This means reading other people’s posts, commenting on them, and following them. 

Be genuine and relatable when you are doing this. Don’t copy and paste the same message. 

When I was engaging with other Steemians, I would read their entire post and find a way to offer value to them. I met and learned about some cool people doing this. Find a way to relate to them! That’s how you make friends in real life, so that’s how you make friends on Steemit! 

At the end of your comment, leave a link to your content and if they like it, they’ll give you a follow! 

The entire process is time consuming, but if you enjoy learning about other people as much as I do, it’s actually quite enjoyable! 

Here are some examples of comments I’ve made on other people’s posts. 

Expect nothing
 

The last principle I followed was to expect nothing. This is an important mindset to have when you’re trying to grow your account. Humans have egos and everyone think their content is the best and a good chunk of people are on Steemit to make money. However having mindsets like this will only impede your progress as you will become discouraged when you realize that after putting in 2 hours of work writing a good post and engaging with tons of Steemians, you only gained 3 followers. 

Growth is a slow process and you must accept that. 

When I post or engage with people on Steemit, I expect nothing. I don’t expect people to follow me back, I don’t expect people to like my post, and I don’t expect people to comment on my post.  

Having a mindset like this allows you to keep on hustling—to keep on creating content and engaging with others. If you are needy it will be conveyed in your writing and nobody wants to follow someone that’s needy. Imagine how slimy you think that greasy salesman is with his hidden agenda to sell you something. Don’t be that greasy salesman.  

 

Conclusion 

These are the same steps I followed when I grew my brand’s Instagram page to 10k+ followers in 5 months. On that account, I followed other people, posted good content, and wrote thoughtful comments on other people’s accounts all while expecting nothing in return. I adopted these same principles onto Steemit and it seems to be working!   

Thank you for checking out my post :) 

Like this post? 

Re-Steem and Upvote This! 

Follow Me as I chase my dream of becoming an Astronaut, Entrepreneur, and DJ!  

Sort:  

It's all about the fundamentals, isn't it?

Yup! you're right... Fundamentals are KEY!

Thanks for the mention and previous comment on my intro post! I think you really hit the points. The key thing though is time. Without time invested, you won't see the results you're looking for. Im slowly trying to dedicate more time and hopefully results will eventually show.

Thanks man! You better do the same too!

:) sure I will!

Wow you're a tripple threat

Thanks @hafray I appreciate it bro!

very good post. I think your best advice is to expect nothing. Just post and engage and let it flow.

Thank you for reading @rangertx
You're right on the money: Just let it flow!
I'll give you a follow and check out your posts too!

LET IT FLOW !! LET IT FLOW!!! THE MONEY NEVER BOTHERED MEH ANYWAY

Great advice, really some words of encouragement, motivation and reality, as the majority of us probably already know that we have to expect nothing in return for the reasons of not getting discourage when not reaching certain goals, but by the same token down the road we tend to forget about this mindset and start applying the opposite even though we know we shouldn't been doing it. I include myself because it has happened to me not only on blogging but in different aspects of life, we are humans so we make mistakes and somewhere down the line we slid off were we should've been, that's when we need to realized we are a little bit off track and we need to reset, we can come to this realization through a close friend or in this case; your post.

I totally agree with you @alessio!
Humans are imperfect and we make mistakes. What's special about this is that we can choose to fix those mistakes and get back on the right track! I'm glad you found some value in my post!

yeah good post i like it

Well said man. I totally agree. Althougj I have nowhere near a hundred in a week, that's ok though. It takes time and thats all I need.

You're right @eqko Patience is key!

Great tips @blaisep ... I just started about 11 days ago and have been doing that a lot... I got tons of followers :)

Congrats on your following!

forgot to add... following you :))

Great experience and good dreams...I will try to improve my followers...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61