Sort:  

Still works! I was able to make a new account using this method earlier today. Conveniently, @drakos addressed the current fee a few hours ago on a post he wrote: As of right now account_creation_fee is 0.1 STEEM

Using the math @blacktranquility posted above I made the new account using "3.000 STEEM" and I left VESTS at "0.000000 VESTS"

@gameskiller, I too received the error messeage but realized it was triggerd by my semantics, I had a capital letter in the username. I believe it will also fail if you were to type in a value of 3 instead of "3.000 STEEM" or delete the value in the VESTS field, leaving it blank, instead of "0.000000 VESTS"

Hope this helps! Good luck!

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@drakos/account-creation-fee-review#@drakos/re-olyup-re-drakos-account-creation-fee-review-20180118t180548026z

Oh thanks. I think I know my problem haha.
I didn't had any Steem Coins. Now it worked, after I bought some of these. Sorry for that, my stupidity.
And yes, it was also because of the capital letters. Thank you again.

Ah, nice! Hey, trial and error is the foundation of the scientific method :)

Thanks @doctor-onion for your message. It was useful for me even after a month. I was able to create an account today with 3 STEEM by following the same procedures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54