Why are my pending payouts dropping??

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2156.JPG

You may have noticed that your pending rewards for many of your posts are falling each day. This might lead you to believe your upvotes are being retracted or it is a consequence of the recent hard fork change. This is probably not the case.

What you are actually seeing is the effect of the reduction the price of Steem has experienced in the last week. The current price of Steem is $1.94. On the 19th it was as high as $2.23. The pending payouts of posts move in proportion to a moving average of the Steem price. So if the price of Steem falls over your payout window, your payout will reduce accordingly.

However, the impact is smoothed. So if the price dropped by 50% in the final day, your payout would not feel the full effect of the decrease. The inflationary effect is based on an average price change over a few days (although I’m not 100% clear on the exact averaging period).

On the plus side, when the price is going up, your payout will inflate. A few weeks back when the price of Steem soared, my pending payouts inflated by 30/40% in some cases. I thought I was getting late upvotes by a couple of whales but when I saw it was happening across a number of posts, I realised it was just the effect of the rapidly increasing Steem price.

The table below shows a snapshot of my pending payouts yesterday and the value of those payouts today. The first few are recent so it’s difficult to strip out the effect of the steem price. But you will see the older posts (from a few days ago) have fallen by about 4%. Some have fallen 3% and this is because I have received upvotes on these posts in the interim period which has partly offset the deflation.

Hopefully, the price of Steem will turn around so we can start enjoying some inflation!

IMG_2157.PNG

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

The demand for steem power needs to exceed the demand for new accounts for the price of steem to go up, this will happen eventually but my advice is to wait until steem drops to around $1 then start buying up steem power like crazy! :)

Since the start of the April, the rise in steem price has outstripped the growth in accounts. It will be interesting to see what direction steem price will go in the next few months. I wonder will e recent Hard fork change push up the price, it's too early to tell now. Cheers for the colment

The learning curve is about a month for most, well it was for me, so im guessing thats how long it will take for the price to start rising? since the demand for accounts has exploaded since the

i hope im just a slow learner though lol :)

Since the...flying fork? :p

you think it will fall this much?

I hope not, but it is possible? if it does, its buy time! :)

got me scared there for a second.

I was considering buying more when it was under 2$ but I will wait a bit and see where it goes.

If its going up fine I have more already then I orignally planned to buy

If it goes down more I am not sure if I can resist

i think its more likely it will go down further before it starts to go up because most people hearing the hype will start off trying to earn steem, it will take them a while to realise that they need to invest in steem power to make any significant gains by upvoting there own posts? ofcorse i hope im wrong and they catch on quickly and start buying steem? either way its good for people holding steem power, if it goes down, buy more, if it goes up you will be holding more dollar value! win win really :)

I think it's a bit of a gamble, but i bought steem because i wanted to support the steemit platform and i would also far prefer to hold crypto when fiat implodes.

Should you convert your steem dollar's into steem power ??

there are 3 reasons you should convert your steem dollars into steem power 1st security, if some one was to hack your account they could instantly transfer your steem dollars to there own wallet, 2nd voting power, the more steem power you have the more $ you will get for upvoting your own posts and 3rd interest, you will gain a small amount of steem power back as interest just for holding steem power, i hope this was helpful :)

Thank you @daniel82 this was really helpfull :D

I think there are actually 2 factors. The first is the price of Steem as explained by the author. The second is that there is a fixed pool of Steem being created in each week for post rewards, so if there are a lot of upvotes on the days after your post was published there could be a bit of dilution of that pool. Usually the price of Steem is the biggest factor though.

A very interesting analysis.
On the small rewards there isn't that much big of an impact, but on the ones with high reward 4% is quite the drop

Yes I agree with you I saw this dropping here
I think it is a consequence of the recent hard fork change !!!
Thanks for sharing

This cleared my problem and worry! Thanks for the post man!

That's good info. I thought I noticed small ticks in the payout price, lol.

Thanks for the info, I was sitting there like : Wt** ?? What's happening to the posts rewards !!

Interesting post and thank you for sharing. Nice to know it just the market effecting my post value and not someone not liking my post.

have you got any payment?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43