Tell us more, Steemit Inc

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_2135.JPG

Maybe I am alone in this but does the Steemit community feel that more transparency and explanation around critical updates to the platform are needed?

Steemit does so many things right but I feel it would benefit from more formal updates around key changes to the architecture of the platform.

For example, the impact of the latest Hard Fork was a huge surprise to many (including myself) and I think more education and notification around what to expect from these changes should be taking place.

Knowing how the change will be effected, the likely impact of the change etc. would benefit users greatly by informing them on what is coming rather than leaving the community to speculate and debate on the likely outcome.

IMG_2136.PNG

Another example is the original white paper. I think version updates are needed to reflect key changes to the structure of Steemit and to my knowledge, this is not being done in a comprehensive and structured way.

IMG_2137.PNG

I'm not trying to crticise the Steemit team, rather, I feel obliged to make any suggestions I feel would benefit the Steemit platform going forward.

@teamsteem, on a separate point, I feel the change today was a huge leap forward so thank you for making this happen.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

This is actually the first time I've heard about the hard fork!

You will find all the details about HF19 here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/hf19-equality-coming-soon-linear-rewards

I do believe a revised whitepaper is on the way.

Follow @steemitblog for updates

Thanks for the link! I was a looking for info, do glD to find this! Upvoted and followed! ⭐️

I actually agree with you, what do you think is the best way to relay the information to users? A tab on the site itself or an e-mail maybe?

@bitgeek Application version control is vital durinf any system upgrade as it clearly shows the new features and bug fixes addressed in previous versions.

It would be great to have more information about such updates. I didn't know or hear about the hard fork until last week when other steemians were post videos about what to expect. Otherwise i would not have known.

@bitgeek Great thoughts! How about a banner type "advert" across the top of every page starting a week before the planned hard fork?

I was shocked at how drastic the change was! A heads up would have been nice!

I totally agree! would be great to learn what the devs are doing! I have been liking all your posts lately. Great job!

I feel the same. I am very happy with the changes made today. There are questions I have i.e. how many votes do we have before we lose some of our voting power each day? How is it factored about the reputation changes, just to name a few. Upvoted

Vote Impact
The changes to the impact of a 100% vote are more material. A 100% vote will be 4 times more powerful once HF19 is completed. As it stands now a single 100% vote uses only 0.5% of your remaining voting power (voting power regenerates fully over a 5 day period). That means real users would need to vote 40 times a day at full power to use most of their voting power. This leaves users who are less active unable to fully leverage their voting power. After this change, a single 100% vote will use 2% of your remaining voting power, meaning that 10 full-power votes a day will now be enough to leverage the majority of your daily voting power.

Users can continue to simply upvote-at-will because a vote only consumes a percentage of the remaining voting power, not the total. Imagine “voting power” as a swimming pool that is constantly being refilled by the rain. Every time you upvote you reduce the amount of water (in this case “voting power”) from the pool by a percentage (i.e. it’s not like you are constantly removing 500 gallons from the lake). The next time you vote you are removing another percentage from an already diminished supply.

That means there are still no limits on how much you can vote. The more you vote the more you incrementally decrease the amount of voting power you have (the water in the pool). To get a better sense of how powerful your votes are and the rate at which that power diminishes simply observe how much your full power upvotes increase the rewards of content creators and you should get an intuitive sense of how the algorithm works.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/hf19-equality-coming-soon-linear-rewards

Wow!! I'm so impressed with your reply and the time you've taken explaining this to me. I understand it more thanks to you. I'm following you!! Upvoted your reply which is 8 cents as a minnow. So I'm getting a little feel on this. Many thanks !!

Keep in mind that the platform is still in Beta. Also keep in mind the immense surge of users (including myself) in the last week or so. The hasn't been a need for more transparency... until now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57681.36
ETH 2446.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30