Making a career on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2037.JPG

I often find myself asking the question...

Where will Steemit be one/five/ten years from now?

I am new to Steemit but Steemit itself is very much in its infancy when you compare its journey to date with the potential so many of us see it having.

What intrigues me is the potential for Steemit not only as a community for sharing and rewarding content but as a sector of employment for many.

There are, I'm sure, a few people who currently do this full time but I expect the number will grow exponentially as users start realising the potential of utilising this platform for other benefits beyond writing articles. A colleague of mine who is a regular Steemit user today spoke of his goal of writing posts full time on Steemit once he is earning enough to do so .

But writing posts seems to be just one of many possible avenues of potential income on Steemit.

Creativity in this area is blossoming each day as I see new initiatives that benefit from Steemits unique structure. One example is charity. I've seen some excellent causes raise significant sums of money on this platform.

IMG_2038.JPG

Another interesting service I've seen is the likes of @randowhale where you pay SBDs to receive a whale vote of between 1% and 50%.

Basically, the ease of transferring steem and sbds is encouraging entrepreneurs and innovators to come up with new and creative ways of using the platform.

I wonder how far this will go and what this space will look like a year from now.

Sort:  

I am unsure though how steem will be able to keep rewards as high as now, if there is many more people using the website. Where would the steem come from if there is so many new people upvoting.

But maybe inflation is only linear percentage and not declining percentage, i guess that would actually solve the problem to some extend

totally agree with you , that's whats probably gonna happen in few years. i've waited 2 weeks to sign up here which is alrdy shows the traffic that grows hourly

I think places like steemit.com will become a necessity: I think you are right it will make a lot of things possible.
I can see this as a realisation of the idea Kevin Kelly described in the Inevitable:
Creators get paid by micropayments by their followers. 6 months ago that sounded like science fiction.
But it can go alot further than just the social network: what if you write a piece of code that makes it into Android on a BILLION + machines. What if contributors to such projects get a nano payment for each copy (fragments of cents) . A frictionless system like Steem could make that happen. I already see artists here. A Steem/ Youtube solution might allow them to make a decent income: check out Kevin Kelly's 1000 true fans and my own article on why we all need to learn new skills for the IDEA ECONOMY

don't think you can pay all the bills with steemit unless you are an early adopter or you can really make every post a star. It takes lotsa calculated grinding. If you were an early adopter it would have been nothing to get lotsa SP. Not as easy now. I wonder if it will be even more difficult in the future.

Yeah, whenever money's involved it's always more difficult the longer you leave it to get started, but people with interesting perspectives will always rise to the top, and people who got here first will fade away if they can't keep up the interesting content. Look at how many early Youtubers died off and now have ghost-town channels. Things have a way of evening out.

well after building a big reputation and SP it would be stupid to not create material. Thats my end goal here (obviously)

Thanks for sharing.

@follow i follow

Great read! Really enjoyed it, thank you so much for putting this together :-)

Funny, I heard of Randowhale earlier today but hadn't before. I'll have to look into that. I hear there are some unsafe ways to use it or trickery one might run into with it. Suppose I'll have to re-read the post. For me, I think steemit will go far. I like to surf around and meet new friends by commenting for the most part. Looking at my wallet is just a bonus.

Congratulations @bitgeek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Steemit is a great platform for contents creator to be rewarded and I hope its able to allow many awesome people to earn a living out of it. What it needs now is more marketing and pushing for awareness for wider adoption to the mass public.

What are the most innovative things you've seen on Steemit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64