How much is my VOTING POWER worth?

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_2183.PNG

If I were to exhaust all my voting power in one day, how much of the reward pool would I extract?

This is a question I've thought about for a while but after doing some reading, I think I have some understanding. This is just my interpretation of how it works so please forgive me if it is not 100% accurate.

Under the new hard fork, a single upvote depletes 2% of your voting power. Your second vote depletes 2% of what remains after your first vote is used, and so on.

My understanding is that you will never exhaust all your voting power as the way it deteriorates is such that it never reaches zero. Voting power regenerates over 5 days so I am going to look at the case where you use practically all of your voting power in the first hour of the 5 day window. So after that hour, your vote will have an immaterial effect (until it regenerates to a healthier position).

I'm going to take the case of someone with 120,000SP in their account as this would give them an upvote value of about $100 at full power.

I'm going to answer a few questions in this post which you may have asked yourself one time or another.

  1. How does voting power degenerate
  2. If I used all my voting power, how much of the reward pool would I take and how many upvotes would it take for my vote to have a negligible effect?

How does voting power degenerate

As I mentioned earlier, each additional vote will reduce your remaining voting power by 2%. To see what this looks like I'm going to show how voting power decreases after each vote. Remember, I'm assuming all the votes are made in the first hour so no regeneration has taken place.

The table below shows how someone with 120,000SP's voting power would degenerate over 20, 100% votes (for illustration purposes, I'm not considering part-votes)

The table shows the first 20 votes, the value of each vote, the remaining Steem Power before the vote is given and the cumulative value of the rewards that this user would extract from the reward pool.

IMG_2184.PNG

If I used all my voting power, how much of the reward pool would I take and how many upvotes would it take for my vote to have a negligible effect?

After 20 votes, $1,661.96 would have been extracted from the reward pool and the voting power would stand at 68%.

After 458 votes, the voting power would be at .01% and the marginal value of a vote would be $0.01. At this point $5,000 would have been extracted from the reward pool.

** If you want to know how much value you can extract from the total reward pool, multiply the value of one upvote (at 100% voting power) by 50. **

Someone with 10,000 SP will have a full upvote value of $8.33 which means they can extract $416 from the total reward pool every 5 days.

So, our user executes all of these votes and has exhausted all of their Steem Power. In 5 days time they could do the same thing again. Repeating this process over a year (assuming everything else remains unchanged) the total amount extracted over a year would be $5,000 * 365/5 = $365,000.

This assumes the account uses all of the Steem Power in a year and the reward value per SP remains as it's been over the last few days since the Hard Fork.

The graph below illustrates this. If the red line were to continue forever, it would never become zero meaning you will always have some Voting Power.

IMG_2183.PNG

If every account were to use all of there voting power then the reward value per upvote would drop significantly (by how much I don't know).

The reality is only a portion of the full potential voting power is utilized. At the current level of typical voting power usage, a 120k SP account gives a $100 upvote at 100 voting power. This can easily change if voting behaviour changes.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Sir, @bitgeek , with all the respect, I 'm wiling to disagree on one aspect.
Where is a proof, that regeneration back to 100% always will take maximum 5 days?
I may be totally wrong (and will be thankful to see the proof of that), but what I understand is, that regeneration speed is +20% per 24h, from the any given level. In other words, if your level droped to 83,333%, it will be back to 100% in 24h.
Or in 48h from 69,44% to 100%.
Or 120h (5 days) from 40,18% to 100%.
Or even long full 2 weeks, or 14 days, if you manage to exhaust your voting power down to 7.79%.
Because 0.077886568 * (1.2^14)=1.00.
And, sure, only IF you do not make even one single additional upvote during these 2 weeks.
In other words, the present level (PL) depends of the starting level (SL) and the number of days N passed as follows:
PL=SL * (1.2^N)
This would lead to +20% increase every single day. What ever your starting level is.

Am i Wrong?

Somebody more experienced point me to my mistake, please

And better yet - where i can read about all this?

Thanks for showing that we can all vote more than ten times day. I keep seeing people post about a "ten votes per day" rule. Wtf.

Hi onealfa, many thanks for your detailed reply. That's very interesting. My interpretation came from this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/hf19-equality-coming-soon-linear-rewards. Let me have another look and I'll come back on your points. Thanks again

I just started here so I'm no expert but by going to steemDB.com/@username you can check your voting power. It slowly increases throughout the day. In a 24 hour period you gain 20% voting power. So if you run it down to say 80% and don't make another vote for 24 hours your voting power will be back at 100%.

Thanks for clearing this up, i thought it was 20% absolute increase each day and not 20% increments of your current voting power, since everyone keep saying "5 days to regenerate your voting power to 100%"

Great post, but I belive you make one major mistake. As far as I know, voting power is down each iteration not by 2% of full voting power but by 2% of REMAINING voting power. So full upvote with a 50% remaining power will drain it to 49% not 48%!

This is the best explanation on how voting power works. Thanks.

you can vote with less than 100% voting power ever if you don't have 482SP

Check how to vote without burning Voting power read the post

Thanks for this, it's nice to look under the hood.
Upvoted! BOOM!
15055741_1112357102212581_7479676405648276340_n.jpg

This was a fantastic explanation for both newbies and seasoned Steemit users alike. Thanks!

finally i understood this, thanks to you man, great info !!

This is really interesting. Thanks. I am trying to work out how it works as your voting power gradually increases through the day, so unless you voted by clicking 20 times straight away, you would have some increase over the day.

Also, you can vote with less than 100% even if you don't have 482SP

Check how to vote without burning Voting power read the post

Thank you for explaining in such detail, need to learn this.

Also, you can vote with less than 100% even if you don't have 482SP

Check how to vote without burning Voting power read the post

nice graph, thanks for sharing ;)
enjoy your day! :)

finally i have a clear understanding of how my voting power works thank you @bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77