Has Hard Fork 19 led to more self-serving on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_2165.JPG

We are now post-Hard Fork 19 and are going to see many posts covering analysis of change over the coming days and weeks.

This post is based on a conversation I had with another Steemian which got me thinking a lot. His upvote value increased to $90 from about $5 following the lastest Hard Fork. However, today he noticed this value had reduced for the same level of voting power.

Why did this happen?

I have a theory about this which I would like to share. Let's first look at the big picture for a minute. Assume the total daily reward pool available for author and curation rewards is the same every day (so we're taking steem price movement, account growth etc. out of the equation).

Now, the value of someone's upvote is a function of their Steem Power BUT it is also a function of the level of Steemit's total daily voting activity - the number of votes across the platform.

Let's think of votes as belonging to two categories: self-votes and content votes.

Now here is my theory...

I believe that following Hard Fork 19 the shift in voting power has caused more self-voting than before.

IMG_2155.PNG

It is clear to see why this would happen.

Let's say that before HF19, the voting power was split 90/10 between whales and non-whales.

Given how exposed whales are and the fact that some of the biggest whales are heavily invested in the future of the platform, I believe they are less likely to self vote and exhaust all the voting power for personal gain. Such behaviour would attract unwanted attention and damage their reputation.

In addition to the above, many of the largest whales will not exhaust all of their voting power. I'm pretty sure if @Dan or @Ned were to use all their votes, there would be very little left. So this propensity to vote is a factor in all of this.

Now let's look at the situation post-Hard Fork 19. Let's assume the split is now 70/30 between whales and non-whales. The shift in power has caused upvote value to increase significantly among non-whales.

Given the larger number of these accounts and the less exposed they are, the level of self-serving behaviour on the platform is going up! I have seen this a lot since the change. In one case today, I saw a user with 11k SP upvoting all his comments such that he was getting $8 per comment.

In addition to the higher propensity to self-vote among non-whales, the extent to which they are burning through their voting power is greater.

I think all of this will cause the voting value to fall as an adjustment takes place.

A personal view is that if we remove self-voting from the equation, the voting behaviour becomes more akin to how it was before but I appreciate now (thanks to advice from @demotruk) that self-voting has a valuable purpose if not misused.

In summary, I like what Hard Fork 19 had done for author rewards, not self-serving behaviour.

Thank you for reading this post.

Sort:  

Yes.. it is very interesting at the moment. I believe that self voting is important as it allows the smaller players to get some power until they get a good following and no longer need to rely on self voting at all. It is tempting to self vote on every comment. I still do on quite a few of my comments... but that is only because I see this as a way to build up so I can promote more and help out more people in the long term.

Self voted :)

I have to be honest and say that immediately after the changes, i got more than a little excited by my new found power and upvotes myself..... until i realised that I had killed my voting power. Then I was disappointed. As I love being a part of the steemit community.... sure the idea of making millions is great but I have an unhealthy obsession with Steemit and I love upvoting great content and discovering new ideas and information. So although I found my upvote power exciting, i think I will be a little more selective moving forward. If you post decent content, you will still be rewarded through upvoates anyway x

I suppose the trick is to get over 500 sp (or whatever the limit is) then use the magic slider to drop the amount you use per vote!!

^^^
That's at 20%, so I can do 50 a day consistently.
Full power is almost $5, but then I can only go 10 times a day.

I'm a little way off being awarded the magic slider, but will keep plugging away until I do xx

Interesting post, thanks! Seems like a great help for new users to get their foot in the door :)

hey bitgeek, great analysis.. I hope that this hard fork pushes people to be more discerning when upvoting, I think its great steemit is pushing for a community that creates quality content. you have gained a new follower!

A man wrapped on himself makes for a very small bundle.

Self voting can help promote a post/ comment as well as reward the poster. So its not just about the reward but about promoting your work. But I agree, its an interesting dynamic!!

Great post, we are all testing it out and I beleive people will figure out by giving is more beneficial for them on this platform than self giving. 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

Thanks for telling us this !
Very good explanation and even If i am really new to this community I could understand what you are talking about ! :)

However about upvoting your own posts, upvoting your own comments seems a bit over the top for me. Is this necessary?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64