Sharing is not "theft" or "plagiarism"

in #steemit8 years ago

Usually I share things on steemit then promote it to 34,000 twitter followers. I don't appreciate being accused of "stealing" or "plagiarising" the content to make money when I am giving the original youtube video exposure to so many engaged followers on another platform.

I consider any steem I get to be a tip for the views I provide on the content. Im not "stealing" anything.

It costs money to be seen by thousands of people online so why shouldn't I be allowed to monetise my following in a way that doesn't cost the original content owner any funds?

Steemit has jumped the shark if I can't monetise the only thing I can provide which is views on the content.

Sort:  

Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what they are talking about on Steemit. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I just do not believe you are not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

I see it both ways. As a creator, having spent a lot of time and effort on a project, only to have someone else share it and reap the rewards of my time, can be frustrating. Even if they have a big following and I have a small one, the amount of effort vs reward in them sharing my content vs me creating it can be a great divide.

On the other hand, a following doesnt grow overnight, and a curator can spend a long time establishing themselves as "someone who finds gold" and therefore gather a following. So long as you always give credit to the author it's usually fine, but there can be instances where the original artist is completely overlooked as something that just earns the curator money. As an artist, I dont work for you, you dont pay me and I didnt hire you, for you to be profiting off of me can be seen as at the very least intrusive, at worst downright insulting, which gives the feeling of theft.

Please note I'm not accusing you directly, just curators in general. I've been on both sides of the fence and it can be a touchy subject for many, but thanks for taking the time to bring it up, it's always a good discussion to have. Curators have a place, but content creators should be reimbursed as well. Steemit does a decent job of this for those of us who post on this platform, but if you posted everything from youtube here without the youtuber's consent, it could potentially be considered a copyright infringement if you began profiting off of their content in a significant manner.

there seems to be this mania of calling everything plagiarism. there are even people claiming that you can plagiarize yourself. imagine that, picking your own pocket. if someone is genuinely stealing and trying to pass off someone else's work as their own, then let's make a stink. some people seem to have a lack of understanding of the meaning of "product of your labor". if we forfeit all rights to our content upon posting it, then let's just say it, let it be known, and i can stop trying to add value here for $0.00. so, what's it to be? thank you for this post. good points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64