I will be in attendance for (and covering) the 1st Steem Saturday event on the 29th in Joburg!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)



Since I am in South Africa for a couple of weeks I could not pass up on the opportunity to attend what appears to be a very intriguing gathering of cryptocurrency enthusiasts. The first Steem Saturday ever will take place in Johannesburg this coming Saturday. I will fly in from Port Elizabeth just to attend. I have been critical of many aspects of Steemit, but from what I can tell the group of people putting on this event are proactive individuals that have the opportunity to take hold of the tone and the direction of the site and open it up to the English speaking southern African demographic (yes more than just South Africa, the entire region). Steemit could benefit so many people in this region, it just has to be packaged in the correct way and it appears that the users of the site participating in this gathering can influence the future of the site in a major way. I plan to interview people at the event and provide "media coverage" so all of you can understand what is going on. This could be the begining of a big user powered transition for Steemit or it could just be a nice opportunity to meet cryptocurreny fans in South Africa, all of you who check out my Steemit page will get to see how this all ends up. In my video below I go into some aspects of why I am interested in this event, but I wanted to expand upon my thoughts here before you watch the entire thing.

Thanks to @gamaroff for hooking me up with a place to stay on my first ever visit to Johannesburg! I am really looking forward to seeing the city, meeting Steemit people, and covering the event here on Steemit. @gamaroff and I will both be speaking in Zimbabwe at the end of November at this cryptocurrency conference put on by @tkembo. That conference will be covered here also so stay tuned!

Sort:  

Hi #Disruptmeister #nofancysetting #straittalk
I am from South Africa and I am a big fan of your Youtube channel for more than 3 months? I am new to steam and enjoy the platform. still trying to make something out of this but will get the hang of things soon. lol

I love the hard working people of South Africa! I had a blast in PE, Jo-Burg, and Cape Town! I want to return. @gamaroff is legend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43