You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follower for follower - Why I think this is a bad idea

in #steemit7 years ago

I think it's very confusing for new people to see some ordinary posts earn alot of money and get tons of upvotes. There are also alot of schemes to add followers, buy upvotes, and get noticed by these "whales" that have much weight.
For new joiners to the community it seems like you have to work at getting noticed so I don't know if it's not too judgemental to question their methods of trying to be successful, those methods may evolve over time.
Also, some of us write on a variety of topics so would naturally gain a variety of followers. I'll follow you because I like food and I enjoy analysis of how the steem community operates.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment. I agree with you that it might be very confusing. When I first joined, Steemit was quite confusing for me aswell. All I did was post, upvote and comment and ignore most 'About Steemit' posts, because there was so much to learn. The extra knowledge of the inner workings of Steemit comes with time and I hope this is the same for all of our new members aswell. Atleast those patient enough to stick it out.

I did not write this post to make newcomers feel bad, I wrote it to make a point and to hopefully educate new members. The copy/paste comments in which people beg for followers (without even reading the article) are not only annoying to many people, they are also harmful for the people writing them. There is not only a risk of getting ignored, but people can also flag (downvote) them, which harms their reputation.

I sometimes reply to a private message to explain this to them, but in all honestly, I don't feel like doing that a lot. This post is easier for me, because it can be read by everyone.

I'm learning a lot from just reading the comments. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56