[SURVEY] I am a ☒ Steemian ☐ Steemer ☐ Steemite

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Take your pick!
While not enough to warrant screaming IDENTITY CRISIS, it would be nice to reach a community consensus..


Me?

Steemian

This is the one I've always used, not sure where I've heard it for the first time but it stuck. This is also the one that most.. uh.. Steemians.. use, such as @ned, @anduweb, @sweetssj, @rea, @natichi, etc. The -ian suffix is likened to citizens of countries such as Russia and Canada, that is, Russian and Canadian.

Steemer

This seems to be the second in use, used by @mynameisbrian, @benjojo, and others. This -er suffix is likened to words formed from verbs, like managers and publishers manage and publish things. Steemers steem. Youtubers youtube. But because Youtube ends with an e, it was very easy to derive Youtuber. Same with Facebooker, I think.

Steemite

This is also another one I've come across, used by @picokernel and others. Steemite might have derived from Steemit, but as such, there is a difference between Steemit and Steem..

Other?

There are probably many other names, but it would seem Steemian, Steemer, and Steemite are the most popular.

Take your pick!

Leave a comment below with how you self-identity! If there are a lot of responses, I can even write a script to tally them up and report the totals in the future.



Follow me! @bitcoiner



Sort:  

First Choice: Steemian

Second Choice: Steemasaurus Rex

Haha, very nice!

I feel so marginalized...

Steemster


:D

Oh right, I had totally forgot about Steemster!

Steemer

IMO, this one is gross and needs to end.

LOL, why's that? Too much like carpet cleaning?

Like excrement. I took my dog to the park and it laid a huge steemer in the grass.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=steamer

Lot of steemers around :D

Oh crap! I didn't think of that. So Steemian it is, for you?

Wow , this is really big issue.

I like steemer much more than steemian (even if its shit). Now it seems that we have a two names.

Steemian - guy who is writing proper stuff with good quality.
Steemer - guy who just shitting around all steemit by spamming and so on

Steemian is the one for me.
Steemer sounds like a cleaner.
Steemite sounds like a bug.

Haha.. these are really true statements!

Steemtonian!

I wrote in my vote :)

This is good too.

First, let's look at nouns and verbs:

Verbs: If you drive, you are a driver. If you talk, you are a talker. If you listen, you are a listener. If you play, you are a player. If you steem, you are a steemer.

Nouns: If you like horticulture, you are a horticulturist. If you are in to playing the piano, you are a pianist. If you like to steem, you are a steemist? steemitist?

Second, let's look at places
Places: If you are from a place that ends in a vowel, you can easily add 'ian'. Florida, floridian. Ohio, ohioan(?) . Carolina, carolinian. Arizona, arizonian. New Jersey, new jersian.
BUT, if ends in consonant we usually use 'er'.
New York, new yorker. Rhode Island, rhode islander. England, englander. London, londoner. Maine, mainer (or Mainiac!)

More to Think About:
Steem is a coin (noun) Steemit is also a noun, but its root is a verb, to steem.
So, steemer, or steemster? or steemitians?
or how about steemmate? (like roommate)

For realz: steemian sounds like an alien from Star Trek.

I like steemer - you guys need to get over the potty talk ;0)

Of course, some of you are certifiably, Steemaholics!

Wow! Thanks for a very thorough analysis! Lots of great points I didn't make =D

I am voting independently of the three-party system... Steemtrekker.

I like Steemer. I think it sounds better and it is clearer and how people would refer to someone who Steems. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82