Are you eating the right carbs at the right time? Keeping your body anabolic!!!

in #steemit7 years ago

Good-Vs-Bad-Carbohydrates.jpg

Hi guys! If there is one thing that I can not stress enough to people...Is how important nutrition is! Not just for a fit and toned body, but also healthy insides and more energy throughout the day with better sleep at night! You have probably heard the old song and dance routine a million times.."Nutrition is 80% of results..." Well, that's because it is true!!

I am a professional sports model in the Professional National Bodybuilding Association or PNBA. The World's largest natural fitness organization that is drug tested using Olympic level WADA testing. Working out is my passion, hobby and lifestyle, but making sure my body gets the proper nutrition it needs not only takes the front burner of the priority stove, but also has become an even bigger passion of mine!

One of the questions I am asked the most when it comes to "dieting" is what carbs should you eat and when should you eat them? Carbs have a bad reputation with a lot of people. Many people fear them while dieting and actually avoid them completely!

First, I have to knock out a few key term definitions!
Anabolic state- A metabolic state for building and repairing muscle tissue. During this time, nutrient delivery goes to where it needs to go!
Catabolic state- A state in which your body breaks down muscle tissue. During this time, your body assumes it will not get the proper nutrients again, and starts pulling from your tissue.
Simple Carb- A carbohydrate that is broken down quickly by the body for energy and leads to a faster rise in blood sugar and insulin secretion from the pancreas.
Complex Carb A carbohydrate that is broken down slower over a longer period of time and leads to a slower rise in blood sugar by moderate and gradual releasing of insulin.

Now that we have that covered, on to the good stuff, and it's SUPER SIMPLE! Simple carbs should be eaten within your anabolic window which is about 30 minutes after you wake up, and within about 30 minutes after your workout! Simple carbs consist of sugar, fruits and juices!

Complex carbs should be eaten literally for the rest of the day! They consist of whole wheats, grains, starchy and green vegetables.

My macro nutrients that I eat will be very different than yours, so you will have to find out how much you should be eating yourself, but for example. During my improvement season, I eat 185 grams of carbohydrates a day, broken up between 6 meals, with 40% of each meal being carbs!

IMG_20171222_083333_096 (1).jpg

This is an example of a post workout meal that I eat pretty regularly. It has a combination of fast digesting protein that when combined with the simple carbs that break down quickly go straight to where they need to go!

Thanks guys, I hope I helped clear some of this up for you, and if you have any questions or any requests for my next blog topic, let me know!

About me: I go by Bitcoin Blondie and I love health and wealth! I am passionate about anything that makes me feel good in the body, soul and mind as well as financially free!

20171220_215841 (2).jpg
![IMG_20171222_083333_096 (1).jpg]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36