You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Success Tip Of The Day #22 - Strive Each Day To Be "MILDLY "NOT-Okay""

in #steemit6 years ago

It's like when people say they're fine. Fearful Insecure Neurotic and Emotional. FINE! Sure, I'm fine, I'm very fine, because I am indeed fearful, insecure, neurotic and emotional. Am I ok? I'm all right. Some aspects can be better, others keep getting better. I am happy, but today I am tired an glum and bloated (that time, can't wait to start because then I'll feel emotionally relieved).

People like to make out everything is fine because they have been programmed to believe that talking about such things is wrong. My mother grew up in the 50s and 60s, where it was Pleasantville all over the place. Everyone had to keep up appearances that they were fine and stand up straight, even if you were completely depressed, tired, and unmotivated. You had to fake it! My mother used to insist that I fake it. Not too much, but it was sometimes annoying. After my burnout, when CPTSD symptoms got worse, I stopped faking it. My mother stopped insisting. I may put on a persona in certain social gatherings if public and not among close family, but I still won't fake it. I'll be honest. How are you? Healing, better, but still having rough days. That's honest, it's not saying I'm completely ok, and it's ok.

Love this post btw!

Sort:  

Right on! I was concerned that many people might be turned off by the INTENSE nature of this post, but luckily, I am PLEASANTLY surprised to see that it is resonating with the RIGHT people.. EVEN JUST ONE new, interesting person who is drawn in by these more edgy posts is an accomplishment according to my grand mission. Here is "third world" Asia people will allow themselves to literally be PHYSICALLY and/or MENTALLY and/or SPIRITUALLY HARMED in order to save face, and they STUFF those emotions down into the depths while it eats away at them. I totally resonate with the PTSD stuff, as I deal with it each daily myself. Most days I need to SUPPLEMENT my diet with BEER and SEDATIVES just to get through the day without killing myself and/or others.... but that's okay. That SAME PTSD is what has made me into what I am. The bottom line is that life is TOUGH. The problem is that most people CHOOSE to NOT ACCEPT that reality that life is TOUGH, and they ULTIMATELY do so at their own peril.... Since you and I have some mutual interests (ex. filmmaking) I have given you a BIG, FAT, JUICY follow for such a heartfelt comment, and for sharing your struggles and continuing the fight. Keep on keeping on.... "one nervous breakdown at a time".... You are valued... @transcript-junky

Thank you so much. Followed you back :)

Yup, one breakdown at a time, one panic attack at a time, once small victory at a time, and eventually, we will triumph, because we are fighting on not letting other control us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66