You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Journal of My Journey Through Steemit -- Chapter 2

in #steemit6 years ago

Time is valuable. In fact, it may be the only thing of real value. So putting the time into a post AND a platform is valuable.

I really wish there were a better way of finding genuine talent. You guys (and you know who you are) and your curations help immensely but I KNOW there are hundreds of good posts every day that I'm just not seeing.

Nice Scorpion (you see, mentioning a specific photo PROVES that I read every single word of your post).

Thanks for a great recap. I really do appreciate you and all you do.

Sort:  

I wish there were a way to find "the good stuff" quicker, too. I'm convinced Steemit itself could do a better job to make the search easier. The fact that they don't tells me something about the leadership here -- and their commitment to the whole project -- the whole vision -- now that they've made their bundle.

Of course, that bundle retains its value only as long as people like you and me keep creating things that sustain that value. An 8% retention rate on new accounts is dismal ... and would scare the bejesus out of me if I were running the show.

Whenever I find a great article I just want to shout and wave it and make people read. But sharing on the other social media sites is different (and a lot easier) than sharing on Steemit. Here, many people treat resteems like some kind of toxic waste. (Yet that's where I find a lot of good new people to follow.)

The curation projects are kind of a compromise on that. They let me (us) say "Here's something we enjoyed reading." If your taste is like mine, you may enjoy it, too. We don't have anything remotely like the clout and voting power of curie, but sometimes someone else saying right out in public, "Hey, you did a great job here" is a morale boost all its own.

You know from experience when I find a good writer I practically shanghai them into The STEEM Engine. I'm really thrilled to help them succeed in ways my little account can't touch. Lately though most of the good pieces I've found are from people with 60 / 70+ rep. And they clearly don't need my help to get their stuff shown.

Thank you so much for the compliments. I read them all -- even when I don't have time to respond. And I do appreciate them all -- every one.

I read them all, too. It's hard to reply to all, particularly right now, I'm out on the road in Rock Springs Wyoming. Internet is painfully slow (we are talking 512 kb here) and I'm generally tired or wanting to get moving. But I appreciate them so...

Salt n Pappas and I have had a little discussion lately about the leadership or lack thereof. So much COULD be done quite easily....

I don't see where you have a Dustsweeper account ... so I fixed that for ya. If you'll keep up with it, these tiny votes from my little accounts will turn into actual $$$. It is worth its weight in ... well, actual $$$. IMO, the best addition to Steemit since I got here a year ago. See the memo in your wallet, and no kidding, do check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55