You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond the Ethics of Bot Voting | Steemit Beginner's Series

in #steemit6 years ago

I did not try bots that I paid myself. My husband paid one at my beginnings. And I had a really negative experience when some bots, I haven't personally paid, voted my post and some of my friends told me they won't vote me, or anyone, that has bot votes.
I felt really bad and decided that bots will not be my thing but I personally think that usage of bots is smart as in it helps you earn more money which is especially useful to folks to whom Steemit is the main money source. Generally, users should feel free to vote whomever and on whatever basis so I have nothing against folks not voting me. Bots or no bots.
Thank you for this breakdown. I'm still learning the Steemit technicalities.

Sort:  

"Generally, users should feel free to vote whomever and on whatever basis so I have nothing against folks not voting me. Bots or no bots."

That's not the easiest newbie perspective to take but I highly respect it. It seems as though because there is money attached to our activities that we are even more protective of our popularity. The same with Instagram, Tumblr, these social media accounts that based performance on engagement, one cannot expect that in their first day, month, even year, that they will become an overnight success.

And yes, we still do! We still try to figure out the 'secret sauce' to help us bypass the outcomes of genuine hard work, investment, and community building.

I used to listen about Steemit all the time from my husband and close friends because they were here basically from the start and I had a chance to see the money aspect bring tension into real life relationships and I find it quite repulsive. Each one of them has this elaborate schemes on why they vote and who they vote (hence the bot story) so I decided to just not go down that cent counting road and just try to create for myself and respect others. I believe their internal relationships with Steemit (and they are quite a bit higher on the latter then me or folks I follow) the calculations and the whales and the dolphins...it had and influence on how I perceive Steemit. For better or for worse. I vote out of liking and respect, not out of calculations, even tho I get it's, money vise, not the smartest ''tactic''.
You know, if have zero expectations and give your best you can't get disappointed I suppose.
Could you elaborate a bit this part of your comment: ''That's not the easiest newbie perspective to take but I highly respect it.'' I really respect your opinion and see you in kind of a mentor light so I would appreciate it.

@big.mama, as a newbie in a place that has full financial transparency, it's natural to feel like:

  1. I want to have larger payouts the way more established accounts do.
  2. My content is better quality than those earning more than me.
  3. Each passing day seems to show no readers or earnings so is this even worth it?
  4. Everyone is talking about "maximizing" their vote so maybe I should do that do.

I can say I had all of these thoughts recurringly, which drove me to study bot voting. When I came to Steemit, I came for the money. Now, I stay for the friendships and community because I didn't see how wonderful that could be until I had it... but not everyone experiences that.

I saw that your quote is a difficult newbie perspective to take because as a newbie, it's easy to feel like you're lost in the shuffle and need to do something to get ahead. Not everyone feels that way, but speaking for myself, I did. And so, I admire your perspective right out of the gate to simply be here for the sake of enjoyment, community, and quality.

Thank you so much! My situation is quite the contrary, I came for love, my husband kept inviting me, and then you and other amazing women like you showed me that I can progress, I can learn and grow and do better, get inspired and maybe even make financial progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34