You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit Is The Platform Of The People And The Answer To Censorship

in #steemit6 years ago

I agree with most of what you wrote in your article, but I tend to have more criticism to this platform.

Mainly the money aspect, and how it manipulates people to write what makes money instead of write what's on their mind.

In other words steemit has issues that can be compared to 'social credit'

https://steemit.com/social/@bifilarcoil/gamified-control-china-s-social-credid-system-is-going-global

And how it leads to 'Social Cooling'

https://steemit.com/ccc/@bifilarcoil/social-cooling-a-34c3-talk-by-tijmen-schep

Not exactly the same, but close enough to bring this to everyone’s attention.

Don't get me wrong steemit is far better then Facebook and others. But still it uses principles that are questionable. Just look how 'money' influenses how people behave.

On steemit this seems to be even WORSE then on Twitter.
Twitter does not 'pay' so people don't hold back on 'bad' thoughts like they do on Steemit.

I'm not sure if I'm exaggerating or not. Maybe I'm just paying too much attention to this. It's up to everyone else to make their own opinions about this.

Sort:  

Fair enough. I'm still extremely thankful for Steemit's protection of indie media through the use of blockchain.

Sure, that's the good part of steemit. And I hope I'm wrong about my observations, or if i'm right that steemit will do something about it.

Money is the root of all evil. And to take money to the next level as cryptocoins there lies a big responsibility. I hope that the Steemit community doesn't turn a blind eye to the darks side of money, and will invest in some research into all possible side effects. Not just the 'positive' side effect of making money. This seems to be the main reason why people flock to this platform.

But by all means, keep posting more articles. :-)

You bring up some valid points but remember that Steemit is still evolving (BETA) and is, in part, a social experiment.

I agree that there's a good number of people who write whatever happens to be the most profitable for them, but I don't think that's the majority of users. I also see a lot of people focused on their passion and interests, some interests such as crypto, bitcoin, steemit are shared by most users so these topics tend to do better than others on the whole.

I would also like to point out that a lot of older users came here to escape censorship and who're not motivated by earning crypto/rewards. There are people here focused on preserving their work to the 'immutable' blockchain. Also, there's more diversity here than meets the eye, especially beyond the trending pages.

Steemit is far from perfect and there are many issues that need to be addressed if the platform is to go mainstream. imo, it could go either way at this point in time.

Yes, and it's because steemit is still in beta that I take the oppertunity to make my point.
I can be wrong but if I'm right then now is the time to make a fuzz about it.
I can't write code so I need to hack this issue with the tools I've got.

I never used social media before. Or wait MySpace I did use until the music industry steamed in and turned it into the biggest spam machine. That drove me away from everything in the social media industry.

Escaping sensorship is indeed a huge strength of steemit and it's the biggest feature. Still there is @cheetah and @steemcleaners who are doing steem-surveillance. And they do it in the same 'bad' way as any other surveillance.
Slightly less bad as others, but surveillance just does not work. As there will always be people who manage to go under the radar, or find new creative ways to get around it.

I'm actually looking forward how this platform will evolve. And I hope my feedback will help it in a positive way for all the users.

Interesting perspective...I think people write about what interests them or think is important to save on steemit. I think some of the heavy hitters just have more followers & steem power. At least the political news isn’t influenced by advertisers, corporations & the new world order.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66