A few things Steemit needs to succeed

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Here are a few things that Steemit needs to compete with other sites that it doesn't have yet:

- ''Subreddits''. Those are essential in creating microcommunities on reddit. Without them, finding content that appeals to you is significantly more difficult.

- Profile pages and profile pictures. This site absolutely cannot compete with facebook without that.

- The ability to add friends. How can it be a social network without that?

- A way to send private messages to other users.

Sort:  

Good points, I'm sure STEEMIT will evolve and add these features soon!

The follow function is currently here, and I always do my best to direct people to it after posting content that I think is valuable. I agree that a core feature of social networking and value creation lies in making connections and maintaining them.

Steemit has all the tools to be a rewarding experience, with skinner box dynamics in the form of upvotes garnering you money and the hype that comes with them. I'm positive that once we pick up STEEM (heh) on the creation of UI improvements and push notification support, this platform will be the network that just keeps on giving.

I am not sure about the private messages but, you are certainly correct about profile pages. Profile pages add so much weight to people’s words. They shouldn't have mandatory content. Instead, the page should allow people to disclose the information they want to. The one problem I see, is famous people taking over the site the way other social media sites have been.

Couldn't they take over the site anyways? After all, their fame means they could get a ton of easy upvotes and their wealth means they could become whales easily.

Yes, I just think profiles would make it easier for the famous to take over. Many of them are getting paid a ton from social media sites already. So, they may have little motivation to use steemit, at least right now. How many famous people actual create their own social media content? I would hate to see this site become full of publicists and paid media manger posts. I still think profiles would help, the rest of us. So, I am torn on the idea.

Right now as early adopters we seem to all have shadow profile pics.Some standard features still seem in the dark . Everything you wrote might be on the platform eventually. Who know maybe these geniuses are trying to re-invented the wheel to ween us off the standard facebook feel. 2 years from now.... Steemit will evolve more then we both could of thought of.

I really hope improvement soon

I agree a 1000%!
I am scrolling around like a blind chicken.
I need a good app !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44