The Way of the DodosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Source: https://sites.psu.edu/siowfa14/2014/10/16/is-typing-better-than-writing-note-taking-for-dummies/


When I first started on Steemit, comments were my favorite place to be.  I had fun reading the article and commenting with an opinion, thank you, or a joke.  This was fueled by the promise of knowing that I could actually be rewarded when payout time rolled around. 


The comments section seems less populated now then it was a few months ago, and that sucks.  While using Steemit, all of us Steemians communicate to each other through posts, votes and comments.  Someone has to start a thread for people to participate.  With a decline in comment popularity, the discussion becomes more one-sided.

Through commenting on each others posts, we offer depth to the post we're commenting on.  The thoughts and feelings of OP are just one of many, and the comment section is where other perspectives can be given.  I enjoy reading someone perspective on a certain topic and adding my own.  So in closing, if any of you have perspectives of your own to add, feel free to do so in the comments! :)

100% power


Sort:  

I have resteemed oodles of content on here every time I am logged in to #Steemit - I like sharing good content and helping it into the feeds for others to see. IDK why not as many people bother to RS my stuff, or stuff in general. It helps grow the base. I am still learning my way.

@d3nv3r sent me here! I am still learning my way but the comments on this thread and post, are right up the alley I chatted with others about. #SteemPoked bro! #SteemPoke

I agree, but I think this is a direct result of the decline in Steem value. There is less money to go to the comments.
I have 8,000 SP, I used to be able to give 5-10 cents a post. I could comment, upvote my own post and get a little payment. Now my own upvote doesn't even give a penny. There is more money in posting currently, and not in commenting.

The hope is that people would comment because they have something to say first, and because they'll get paid second. I've had just as much fun in the comments section of a post as I have reading the actual post.

That's a good point about the value of Steem affect comment population, it just sucks it's taken this big of a hit.

I think that once they allowed Following and Resteeming, the amount of posts that I want to read because they are in my feed has increased a lot. With a limited time frame for visiting steemit, mostly taken up by reading, it's easier to just hit the up vote button and move on to the next post than to take the time to produce a quality comment.

But I do like the interaction of the comment section. It definitely has value. As for the monetary value, I once got $700 for a comment on a whale post, so for those who comment mainly for payout, it could happen to you too! But like anything else in life, do it because you enjoy it and find value in it.

Nice article and a good comment section!

@d3nv3r sent me here! I am still learning my way but the comments on this thread and post, are right up the alley I chatted with others about. Namely @donkeypong last night. #SteemPoked bro! #SteemPoke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80