You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Case 3: Don't Fall for Fake-Whales

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Yep. I've been aware of this since the moment I first made this mistake. I got scammed for 1 SBD by this @whalepower. The real #whalepower is @bullionstackers. I had previously sent him SBD's before and I get great results from him. There was one time when, by accident, I put "@whalepower" in the "Send To" section and I lost my one dollar. Oh well, live and learn. That's a small price for me to pay for a good lesson. I notified the real #whalepower curators of this fact immediately, because I immediately noticed my mistake. Scammers need to be blasted off of the blockchain by bigger fish than me. Thanks for your post. Upvoted and Resteemed!

Now, let's just think about something: How much time and effort did this fake @whalepower have to spend to get my $1 SBD. A few hours? A few days & weeks of learning how to set up false accounts, etc. The funny thing is - he could have spent the same amount of time & energy on actually making a good blog, and he would have made a LOT more money. I have a saying for people like this, "THIS GUY IS SO DUMB, HE CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG, RIGHT." If he would have just made a post, asking me for 1 SBD, and spent some small amount of time being funny or creative - there's a very good chance I would just have given him 1 SBD.

Sort:  

Good! I just wanted to bring this to your attention. Especially since it was possible to implicitly connect the perpetrating account.

You are right, it's a small fish and the energy going in to this could have probably been much more fruitful if applied to a more constructive endeavor.

Thank you very much for the support!

He's a great indicator of how our community responds to such things, so they are offering a serve despite their schemes. Truth will set you free, they could benefit far more from simply being honest than by scamming, scamming only works for a short period of time on steemit, never short enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58