You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Prevent Losing Your Account to Basic, Advanced and Smart Phishers:

in #steemit6 years ago

Don’t develop an unnatural fear of external links. After all, that’s how the Internet works.

The key learning here is DO NOT reveal your login info to anyone. The only place you enter them is on Steemit and type in the Steemit URL yourself.

And when I put a link in any of my posts, I leave it naked. You know where you are going when you click it.

Sort:  

And when I put a link in any of my posts, I leave it naked. You know where you are going when you click it.

I appreciate that idea; as someone who has learned a few tricks in markdown and suddenly think I'm the dog's bollocks, it is very tempting to figure out fun little teasers to be the link for an external resource. But by being naked, it is very transparent and if we're in this network, we like that. I plan to adopt your practice, can always just use a footnote to keep the flow of the piece while maintaining proper citations.

And even further protection with regard to logins, be familiar with the levels of security for the different keys so even if something is exposed, damage control is as high as possible.

Well, it's not my intention to trigger fear of external links, just to let people know what they look like and what they are so they dont fall for Steemit clones.

It’s always good to remind folks to keep their guard up.

Yes, used naked link for first time this morning. Felt more transparent. As @thisismework said, we like that here on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32