I AM THINKING ABOUT LEAVING STEEMIT DUE TO A FATAL FLAW IN THE DESIGN!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

TOO MUCH GRASS.jpg

This might be my LAST post here in the Steemit community. First let me say the things I love about Steemit:

  1. Easy to use, or at least to get started on. I still don't know how people get popular posts going and make a bunch of crypto dollars but I digress. I'm not sure it's just based on content, but rather tricks to get people to see you that other people know but I don't. If you're in the know you can make this happen I'm sure, but I am not. But... it's intuitive and easy to post and I like that.

  2. I dig the kindness that seems to emanate through the community (unless it's fake-ness and phony virtue signaling to get up-votes) but I think there's a genuine amount of quality people here. People have manners here and it definitely shows. I like that.

  3. I like how easy it is to post a link and have an immediate groundswell for a new blog.

The blockchain has some inherent worries though; here are the downsides:

  1. You can't delete a post. I don't like not having this control. What if you make a mistake or post something really edgy you later regret? What if you post a video, like I did, that gets censored on youtube and is now a broken link on my Steemit post? What if, and this is just hypothetical because I haven't had this problem, but what if you posted an unpopular opinion that was later descended on by anger-fueled trolls or bullies or virtue signalers who try to make your life a living hell because of what you posted. You can't delete it after a week even if you get threats or bullying comments or worse? That sounds like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Not from me, I'm just going to leave, and I never posted anything that would lead to this, but what IF someone did and later regretted it? They can't protect themselves and their family from public ridicule and abuse by controlling what content they post? Welcome to 1984's tele-screen folks!

That is a fatal flaw. I loved Steemit initially but I don't like the forever, written in ink, permanence of the platform. False argument that WILL happen if I don't address it now: "well, you know they save everything whether you delete it or not in a data storage facility somewhere!" Yeah, and that is wrong too! But the difference is...the general public won't have access to it. It won't affect your job or reputation if you delete it from PUBLIC view. It's totally different. Saying you should think before you post is the SAME bullshit argument that people use about government spying, "as long as you're not doing something wrong, you'll be fine" nope, dullard, bullshit, nonsensical response. You either HAVE privacy or you don't. You either have control of your content or you don't. I feel like I'm working for Steemit's marketing department by posting a bunch of posts that get picked up in Google search engines and perpetuate their success at the expense of mine long term. It's a Fatal Flaw that has caused me to leave this community. And it's a bummer, because in my heart, I don't WANT to. But my intuition is saying this is dangerous.

  1. It doesn't censor you. OK great! Maybe it's there to draw people out into the open to then openly criticize their opinions and keep data on who the dissenters are! And since you don't have the right to change your content, this will leave people exposed. Almost sounds, I don't know...PURPOSEFUL! Hmmm...critical thinking is a bitch right?

  2. It ends up becoming "Black Mirror" you know the episode called "Nosedive" where you become socially conditioned by fractions of cents and crypto brownie points to be socially conditioned (also known as peer pressure or mind control) to act a certain way. Are we unknowingly helping a Chinese style big brother here? This platform could be the cutting edge for being rated on EVERYTHING in life. It's a slippery slope and a Totalitarian Tiptoe creeping in.

  3. You can't delete your account? Really? You are now a lifetime member of this online community whether you like it or not. I'm SURE that'll work out. I contacted Steemit, no response. You're on your own kid!

  4. Signing up is a PROBLEM yo. If you have to wait a week to be accepted, people are going to think it's a pyramid scheme. Is it? I don't know. But that weirdness I had signing up put a bad taste in my mouth. Either make it available to all or none. I didn't like exclusive clubs in Hollywood when I lived there, where douchebags talk about who they know to be let into douche canoe clubs with douchey bouncers and shallow star-fuckers then, and I don't like it now.

Enjoy the diatribe & I hope I'm wrong about ALL my observations and I wish you all nothing but the BEST experience!! I truly do. The conspiracy theorist in me just doesn't allow me to continue in good conscience. Much love & Deep Respect! This is Besmirched (perfect name for me right?) signing out!

Here's my real name, gasp! Fuck em.

geoffbyrd.com

Come say hi and be nice!

UPDATE: I'm not sure I'm ready to throw in the towel yet because I really do like most of the features, community, kindness and vibe in here. I'm trying to figure out a workaround. I still stand by EVERY word I said above. But maybe, just maybe we can get them to consider more creator controls like editing (even after a week) and deleting control. It might still be on the Block Chain somewhere but not easily found on your blog etc. Can anyone help me contact the right people to make this suggestion or contact them if you agree with me? Cheers! Trying to stay.

TRIPLE BLACKJPG.jpg

Sort:  

Guess it’s not for everyone, Good luck!

Thank you my friend and you as well!

Welcome to Steem Community @besmirched! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Hello @besmirched!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 5 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Yeah, not being able to have control over your own stuff is concerning to me too. All the best with whatever you do next. Have subscribed to your youtube channel, love your rat video!

Thank you very much! I'm glad that a few people will come on over to my house from here. I appreciate you and we'll keep in touch my friend. Cheers!

where's your "house"?

geoffbyrd.com or my youtube channel under geoff byrd meanwhile, I'm still sticking around to see if I can work around my issues. Still pondering, still learning, still want to find a workaround or maybe a change of policy? I know, dreaming. But you never know.

ok, cool, have been enjoying your posts mate!

Thank you. I think I have decided to stay and give it a real shot. I still stand by what I said, every word, BUT, there is nothing better and with more upside so I'll give it a go.

Thank you my friend.

Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

classic. I reveal my most honest post and I get bots immediately responding. Exactly.

😂
I am not a bot.
I have read that you want to give up on steemit...
I am just trying to encourage you to join a community that can support you

oh, sorry, I got confused, my bad. Are the points I made true though? Do you think any of those are a problem? Did I get any of my information wrong? Just wondering what you think.

Let's discus at the channel.
Download the discord App and use the link to join.

I'll answer all your questions there. There's hope for you

I agree you should be able to edit your post in any time, but to be honest when you do that in every other social networks? Almost never.

Deleting your account should be option, but who cares in the end. If you post your truth, why should you be shamed by your posts and because of it delete your account? I agree there should be that option, but in my opinion not so important in the end.

Yes, there are some options that should be better and they might be in future, but we should look at Steemit in bigger picture...

There is no corporation that can censor your post here. Only censorship can happen from other people on network. I saw Fascistube removed few of your videos recently. That won't happen here.

Also you can earn cryptocurrency here, compare that to multi million profit Fascistborg and Twitter leave only for them selves.

In my experience, this is much more friendlier place then Fascistbook and other social networks. One guy without my knowledge set up fundraiser for me here on Steemit because I had toughest year of my life (my dad died, lost my job, didn't have place to live,...). Because of it, I bought new PC and big screen, all with cryptocurrency Steem and Steem Dollars. I recently wrote appreciation post about it: Link. Saw many other examples like that here. That would never happen on Fascistborg and other social networks.

Steemit have many positive sides, but we are dealing with people so of course there are some some trying only to make money on Steemit. But that is not problem of Steemit, it would happen everywhere. There is no perfect social network because people are not perfect.

You are using Fascistube even they are total bullshiters. Compare Steemit to Fascistube and everything else that exist on internet and decide is it more fair? Many pluses with few minuses. That minuses are human behaviour, but you can't avoid that totally. Also those few minuses you mention, who say it won't change eventually? Also, those minuses are not so much big deal. Only problem Steemit have is big difference between people with huge ammount of Steem power (influence on network with big upvotes) and people like you and me with little bit of Steem power. But if anyone joined Steemit only because of money, he don't see whole picture. Money aspect is just one of aspects of Steemit. This network is not about quick buck, it's about being fair and receive few bucks for your posts. Sometimes it will be more, sometimes less, but either way million times more then Fascistborg or Twitter. Much more fair eco system then other social networks.

I decided to stay so it's all good. I still have those objections but it's too good otherwise to pass up. I can live with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58