Monday Missions entry - A Traffic Poem

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Here is a poem I wrote for Qurator's Monday Missions competition.
This week's topic was Traffic.

I hope you like it, feel free to comment and make suggestions.



It is almost eleven and I can't sleep,
Why doesn't it even help when I try to count sheep?

source

The alarm goes off and it's half-past five,
It is almost time to go to the beehive.

The car won't start, it is -17 degrees,
I just hope that I have enough antifreeze.

Off I go and here I come,
Another day to overcome.

Just 10 mins in and I have to stop,
They are painting the crosswalks by the coffee shop.

Five cars in front of me and ten cars behind,
Why paint them now, are you out of your mind?

The work is finally done and so is my car,
I should have a go at it with my crowbar.


source

People are angry because I created a jam,
Two students shout at me, they are late for their exam.

I will give you a push if you give me a ride,
I will take you anywhere, I almost cried.

source

A fisherman and not a quiet one,
I sensed a funny smell and then it began.

He said smile a little, don't be so uptight,
I almost cursed but I stayed polite.


source

The traffic suddenly stops due to an arriving train,
My passenger's stories are giving me chest pain.

The train is slower than it ever was,
If I push this guy out of my car would they have probable cause?

The ramp raises and we drive downhill,
He tells me how he caught the biggest fish down by the watermill.

"It is not far to go, just by your right,
Don't try to fish for tuna, those bastards won't bite.

"Did I tell you about the time when I almost caught a shark?
It was back in the days when I was fishing in Denmark".


source

Just before the turn, the cars begin driving in slow motion,
A shepherd with his sheep has created a lot of commotion.

It is mayhem on the street with no police in sight,
The sheep are scared of my bright headlight.


source

Finally, it is over and I can drop off my friend,
What he said next is hard for me to comprehend.

"This has been fun and my name is Glen,
Tell me, when can I see you again"?

"Here is my card, give me a call,
Maybe one day we can watch some basketball".

I am back on the road racing towards work,
Something ahead sounded like firework.

We stop again, there is another jam,
Two bull deer are fighting and their horns go bam.


source

I hate this place and I really should move,
But I know that my girlfriend will disapprove.

I have a headache and I am 20 minutes late for work,
How do I explain this to my boss, the jerk?


source

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you for resteeming my poem.
I am glad you liked it.
Thanks!

Congratulations @bernardos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43