I'm Powering Down. Please don't hate me.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I've decided to Power Down half my Steem Power.


Listen - before you get the torches and pitchforks, just hear me out!

My decision to partially Power Down is not an indictment of Steemit.

I love this platform, I love the digital currency, and I love the community here on Steemit. For all its detractors, this website has put me in touch with people from around the world that have challenged my beliefs, broadened my horizons, made me laugh, cry, and everything in between.

I'd like to think I've given to this community as much as I've gotten out of it. The fact that I've accumulated over 5,000 SP - and more than 260 followers - since I joined in July of 2016 is proof of that. I'm proud of each and every piece of content I've added to the blockchain, and I'm committed to always being a part of this community.

That's why I'm Powering Down.


I know, it seems ass-backwards, doesn't it?

As much as I love posting on Steemit, it don't pay the bills. My computer is currently held together by spit and bailing wire, so if you want to keep seeing me post stupid and/or entertaining shit on the internet, I've got to invest in some new hardware.

Luckily I've got plenty of experience building my own desktop PCs. I just need some extra cash on hand to buy some new components. Which is where all this powered down Steem is going to.

I love lamp- crypto. I mean crypto.



Actually I'm not even mad. That's impressive.

The best part about Powering Down is that I plan on using Blocktrades to convert my Steem into Bitcoin. I'll then take that BTC to an online retailer that accepts it (probably Newegg, though I'm open to suggestions!) in order to buy the components I need. Not even once will my hands be touching filthy fiat currency.

I know it will feel amazing to literally purchase items with digital currency I've earned from posting on Steemit in order to build a computer so that I can continue to post on Steemit. In fact, I plan on documenting the whole process from start to finish!

So there you have it. Yes, I am Powering Down - but I'm not going anywhere. It's only so I can continue to contribute to Steemit in the future.


Like what you've read? Don't forget to upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

No worries! No one should have to explain why they are powering down. Hope you get the new equipment you need!

Thanks @jrcornel! I just didn't want people thinking I was cutting and running.

actually, you qre demonstrating the value of steemit even at low accrual levels - yes we can use our earnings for our own benefit

And I think it's only fair that we do! Steem is a cryptocurrency after all, it's meant to be used in exchange of goods and services.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80