Avoiding Poison Envy - Steemit envy will take your joy away!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


 “Envy is the art of counting the other fellow’s blessings instead of your own.”
Harold Coffin 

Dear Steemers, 

How many times do we scroll down Steemit and feel envious because other people are doing so well while we just sit here and suffer, wondering why we are not as successful as them? 

I remember feeling so excited when I found out about Steemit. The amount of rewards others were getting seemed way out of reach at the moment, but i had hope injected into my soul. I knew that I could just do what I already did on Reddit and Facebook and get paid for it, even if it was small amount. 

My first post made 2 dollars, and I was content, believing that one of my posts would eventually catch the eye of the public, bringing my post up nicely. But it never happened after my first week and I was beginning to catch the ENVY. I really wanted to be where these people were at.

I saw countless posts making much so much money and I could not help but hate them a little bit for it. The feelings of envy led me to second guess myself and wonder if all of this was just a massive waste of time. But these feelings were only momentary. I could see how this thinking only leads people to not have joy in what they are already doing.

I believe that when we let envy get to us, it becomes a poison that hinders our ability to remain focused and will ultimately skew our original purpose on the platform. We need to keep a clear mind. We will become more useful to the community this way. 

Asking why things seem unfair is counterproductive and you will never get a clear answer!


So when you start feeling the envy take over while you are on Steemit, remember these things:

  • Before Steemit, there was no way for you to take part in this kind of opportunity
  • Even if others are making more money than you, you are still making more money than before by holding Steem Power and being a curator.
  •  You are part of something bigger than you think. Steemit will continue to grow and evolve, increasing your reward potential
  • Stop being sad and start thinking of ways to make your posts better
  • Actually connect with the community. I see too many people who just complain but don't actually interact in a positive way with anyone on the platform
  • Be yourself 


Envy takes our joy away. So keep a straight face my friend and carry on, knowing that we are a part of something extraordinary!


STEEM ON!

-Benji Berigan


Sort:  

good hustle, nice flow :)

thanks brotha

Right on Benji! Love it! Got my vote for sure!

Great point! We have to realize our own worth!

Agree envy is a bittersweet poison.

This is well written! You hit a lot of good points. Since I joined Steemit Ive seen a lot of comments and posts about how its "unfair". But its all about having fun and enjoying your time here xD

Yes, it is already good enough to be here. I love Steemers with a positive outlook on life.

Envious posts do not flow to the top, therefore, there is no financial incentive to be envious on Steemit, especially for the sheer fact that "you did not think of it first."

When you feel envy, just be soothed because it means that you have LEARNED something.

Therefore, the more envy you see on Steemit, the more TEACHING that is happening!

Excellent point. Unique posts are needed on this platform, which is why its better to stop being sad and get smart!
And I agree that envy can lead to learning, but a lot of people become crippled by it! Ive seen it happen!

I think you are right, I guess it also depends on if you are here as you just want to make money or whether actually you want to have the opportunity to express your views and opinions and actually just write what you feel.
A blogging platform that makes money is fantastic but sometimes i feel people are just too money orientated and not focusing on the other side of it.

I feel you man, i have to be honest the g-envy hit me a little bit, but a quick turn around is to look at the amount of posts that actually make ZERO, and that will take the envy away very quickly. Head down ass up mate, with a quick ear to the floor every few hours, and dont forget to breath:).

This is my favorite comment! hahaha

Very raw description of how it goes. You have my following man. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59735.79
ETH 2601.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48