Writing Contest For those Frustrated With Never Having Their Content Seen

in #steemit8 years ago

Giving Credit To Great Writers


I am proposing a contest for users who are frustrated from writing great content that seems to get buried amidst other content that may take only half as long.

Each week I will post a new question that you can answer in a few paragraphs and submit it to my gmail account ([email protected]). I will pick the best three posts and post their answers along with with the posters username (which may help some great writers have a platform to be seem when nobody is reading their posts because they get buried deep).

You can vote in the comment section the following week and the winner will receive 25% of the steem dollars, 2nd place 10%, and 3rd 10%. (But that doesn't add up to 100%!!) The user who creates the question for the next week in the comments below by most upvotes will win 5% of the the steem dollars. (I will keep the steem power and transfer the three winners steem dollars into their accounts after the end of the posting period).

I'd like this to be a fun way for new users to get recognized and rewarded. It doesn't matter if the post makes $10, $100, or $10,000. The 50% will be split regardless to users that I feel have deserved recognition and people will be able to remember a name and know quality is associated with it.

I'd prefer new users be given this opportunity, but the contest is open to anyone who wishes to share great content.

As you all know, there is a limit of four posts per day with 100% rewards and subsequent posts are worth less. This contest is an opportunity to make another post without needing to use one of your own posts.

The contest will continue as long as people remain interested. Suggestions can be added below in the comment section. This is a trial run, so I will attempt to run this a sufficiently as possible. Please include the your @username and any pictures to go with it. I will tag each weekly contest with the tag #writing-contest.

The first question of the week is "What is the best gift you have ever given and why?." Be creative and try your best. I can't guarantee a big payout, but hopefully it will be a fun way to get newer people excited and recognized. If other people with a larger audience wants to do this or collaborate I would be happy to.

I value new users and know how frustrating it can be to see a meme outearn your thoughtful post. A five minute post I did on centering images made just as much as this heart felt one probably will that took days and multiple edits and photo work (Hope you have a chance to read it and be moved) https://steemit.com/steemit/@bendjmiller222/how-my-best-friend-saved-me-from-suicide

So don't give up on steemit! I'll try to get some great authors noticed and make some friends along the way.

Submit entries by Saturday 5PM Eastern and the winners will be chosen and posted on Monday. Again nothing is set in stone, so I am willing to adjust things if people feel it will enhance the experience. Please use the question of the week as the subject line in your e-mail (again [email protected])

Also submit your questions for the following week below and the winner will receive 5% of the steem dollars made from this post.

Another thanks to @stellabelle for encouraging me to try this on my own instead of trying to work through the logistics of two people attempting to do it.

Best of luck! Steem On!

Sort:  

Great idea and nice to see more contests here.

Thank you! I feel for people writing great things. I don't have a large platform, but I'd like to help expose some great people. I want people to have their voice heard. Unless people almost instantly get a lot of votes or post in a category with a high number of people watching, it tends to go unnoticed. Some of that is the overflow of content, and some of that is people not having the time to read everything. I want people to come up with their own ideas to keep newbies from coming on once posting a thorough valuable article, receiving .05 cents and thinking why bother writing content of subastance at all. I'm ok with others using this idea, or it may already be. (It's hard to tell and I dislike the use of google search instead of an internal search) It's just that I see the future being great for steemit, but not if its not scalable and can't support new users because too much info is being posted too fast. Imagine trying to weed through tweets or somewhere mass content is posted. I do wish new people were limited in their posts until they receive a certain amount of steem power and are deemed a valuable addition to the community. I'd be shocked if anyone writing spam posts or mostly memes was a deeply invested user. It's most likely people who just signed up and post as much as possible trying to make a few cents and ruining others chances and overall experience.

Idea for question of the week: What has writing changed most drastically about you or your life?

Question - it says creative writing contest, but the prompt for this week seems more like a personal response. Which is it? Thanks!!

It's open form. Just write from the heart whether funny, heartbreaking, or a style all your own. I welcome it all. If there is enough great content I may go into my own wallet and reward 4 people haha. I'd really like to showcase people who want to write great posts and know they won't fall on deaf ears. In the future I may change up the format. It's completely about what people wish to do. I want to make it a fun place for newer people. Established users probably don't need to post here, but I want steemit to be known for innovation, fun, friendship and deep thought. We all win if this draws out a great writer that people enjoy reading. Most of us have invested time but none of our own money and are seeing how it all works. Even if this contest fails, maybe something good will come out of it. I just want creative minds thinking and problem solving instead of the complaining I see happening. Those complaining are generally not those who have seen success.

sounds great! I can't wait to enter.

Spread the word, the more people who look here and see the posts the better for the winner. And having people vote on the next question should at least make one person excited to post the next week :) I truly will attempt to help everyone that helps me. I love helping people. I'm not a writer by trade, but I have lots of ideas and am always sincere

I like this idea a lot! Good way for you to earn power too. Cant wait to see how it unfolds, I'm interested in being a writer too

At the very least I will look at the writing and try to promote as many people as I can that are truly trying. As I grow in steem power and try to help others, I hope this contest can be something people can look forward too each week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50