What's in a Logo: Why Green for Steemit and Blue for Steem?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Over the past week or so I've seen quite a few article about the new Steemit logo...

Aside from my own opinion on the matter, I found this fascinating and I wanted to share my findings.

Wikipedia shows that the word "logo" is...

...from Greek: λόγος logos "word" and τύπος typos "imprint"


source

First, why are logos important? This Rocket Spark article summed it up well:

A logo is a combination of text and visual imagery that serves two purposes. It tells people the name of the company and it creates a visual symbol that represents your business. Some logos have powerful symbolic association connected to people’s memory.

Secondly, within the realm of colors, there are principles of psychology that are utilized by many companies.

The color BLUE is associated with the following:


source

It is easy to see why many of these huge corporations use this color in their iconic logos.

The color Green is associated with the following:


source

It seems as though it is a good move for Steemit because it can hopefully promote a calming yet fresh and new way to bring harmony and weath into our community of an environment. Where their Steem logo is still blue; showing the cool dependability and security.

What do you guys think about this? The logo is clearly an important necessity for each company, do you think those at Steemit are sending the big mental note of "GO" to all of us? I think so. Let me know what you guys think in the comments below!

Be Informed, Be well!

~Be Love, Be Light~


source

Sort:  

Wonderful analysis. Yes, I hope Steemit can manage to bring those things to our future as well.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by belovelight from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hashtag: Best comment!

Funny, I've always found blue more calming than green...it's kind of an in your face color to me depending on the hue.

This clears up a lot of frustrations people have I hope.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Green and blue, my two favourite colours (well, mostly green) ;)

Mine too, that's why I settle with "teal". :)

Interesting psychology... I wonder what the crimson red of the Templar colors evokes...

I'd say it's suitable ;)

Gotta say you incorporated a nice mix of the two colors into your own banner. Very inviting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87