A warning to freedom lovers who love steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3394.PNG

Steemit is a bastion for freedom!

However I have a dire prophetic warning (although i'm not a prophet)

We all want steemit to grow. That's for sure!

So what am I concerned about?

IMG_3395.PNG

How do I know the red flags, the hidden with low ratings will increase? Simply many of the elite who smell money are GENERALLY more liberal.

When you can buy Steem Power, you buy power. You can direct your own agenda. Therefore my friends, don't be surprised to see your blogs hidden, downvoted, and ultimately your reputation diminished.

The only counter balance will be up to the true bastions of freedom. I do not know where the founders of steem stand. Was it a brilliant idea to uphold liberty? Or was it simply a money making idea.

In either case, it is inconsequential to me. I will benefit from this platform for as long as I can. I will collect as much Steem Power for this very reason I spoke about.

The main question is how can we protect this free and open platform?

IMG_3396.PNG

BB613

Sort:  

I too see this trend emerging, having experienced political persecution by one self appointed police voter who claims to fight spam, plagiarism and hate speech, yet flags all posts critizising his political allies, even punishing at least one of my followers (bystander) I know of. Slander, lies, are flagged as 'hate speech', a term that is not well defined and is thus abused. An intolerance of opposing views is poisoning Steemit. The very Maoism/Marxism that has killed over 300 million humans for merely not believing in the political gods of their making are smelling blood here, too.

All decent, liberty loving Steemit users, regardless of their political views, ought to stand up to the bullying that is manifesting here, as it is in the world around us.

Self righteousness and the claim to moral high ground when there is none is inherently dishonest.

although I didn't get an upvote I'll upvote you lol! good response

Merci. There it is now...

Brave article. Chapeau!

The powers that were will always try to corrupt what they can for influence or money, the trick is to change your strategy, be as anonymous as possible and above all always challenge the people who think they have authority over you.
If you are ordered to do something, dont always comply, ask why?
Gd bless you all

well I ageee BH" but it's hard to stay anonymous when you fight back :)

I agree, may have phrased it wrong, anonymise yourself on the web as best you can so corporations cant make money from your data but you must stand up for your beliefs as long as they respect others beliefs as well! (as the old saying goes "i dont agree with you but i will fight for you right to say it"!

nice post!

btw, Voltaire is one of my favorite philosopher.

great minds think alike I gather :)

"Yes, without doubt; are we not all children of the same father and creatures of the same God?"

I love the Voltaire quote you mention. Thank You bearbear613!

first name is Free last name is dom!

You've said it brother! I'm with you🙃

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bb613 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I recently saw this start happening to one of the people I follow @caladium. She's being targeted by @bloom. While I don't agree that all her views are universally true, she's a solid poster, and doesn't deserve what @bloom is doing to her

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34