You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have Your Say - The State of Steemit this Christmas (best comment wins 10 SD worth of SP)

in #steemit8 years ago

Oooh a survey!!

What do you think works best about Steemit?

The buzz you get from "catching a whale" on your steemit post. It's like a game. You know that your post might not make any money, but when it does that adrenaline addicts you. Like the way it does when you win a bet in the bookies. You don't count all the losses against that win. The work you put in is a total gamble and I love that.

What doesn't work?

Vote buying! You just don't get the same buzz from a pretty penny from a pool of steem that mostly got paid to a handful of writers.

I see more and more posts trying to compete with steemsports and none of them getting the same support from the whales. I think they are big enough now to accept payments only for their bets (plus the voluntary upvotes for the content) and stop encouraging people who have no interest in their posts to sell them their vote for a little splash from their pool of winnings.

What improvements could be made and how? What is missing?

Filters. Just to be able to switch off things that don't interest us and search for content of more than one tag and also to be able to switch ON NSFW for those who have no issues with it.

If you had to prioritise one single issue that you would like to be fixed what is it?

FILTERS!!! MY GOD WE COULD USE SOME FILTERS ROUND HERE

What do you see as the main issue that is holding up wider Steemit adoption?

The first person I invited to steemit (before I even joined myself) was a travel blogger I know. Her response was

"It looks interesting but I'm skeptical about anything that pays....I'll have to look into it. Very interesting though"

Culturally people have grown skeptical of anything that pays you to write. That's just a barrier we have to cross to make people realise writing is a valued skill not to be taken for granted.

If you could give Dan, Ned and the Steemit team one piece of advice what would it be?

Keep up the good work!

Would you recommend Steemit to a friend or family member? If yes, how would you do it? If not why not?

I do, all the time, but I try not to push it. If they bite I tell them as much as I can without getting too technical, but they usually start asking where the money comes from which can only be answered by getting technical. So I usually don't push the conversation until the next time I meet them when they usually ask "how's the blog".

What content do you think is absent on Steemit?

There are millions of things... But the content will come with the people. Maybe we could use some more selfies! (jk) haha

What bloggers or content creators would you like to see on Steemit?

The real @jennamarbles hahaha.

What have you done to try to get them on board?

Well actually, she's probably too big to get on steemit. But I did approach a couple of people who promote their businesses through facebook (which is costly) including some contortionists and dancers. I also started tweeting some of the bigger women in the bitcoin world and managed to get 2 of them following my tweets, so hopefully one of my steem tweets will catch their eye.

What do you see for the year ahead and what would you like to see?

Big things :D

What (if anything) have you done to promote Steemit yourself? Is there anything that would encourage you to promote Steemit more?

Contests like this one are always encouraging :P

As a fun exercise - how would you sum up Steemit in one sentence?

It's a support network where your content and attention is valued by a supportive community of writers and curators.

I <3 STEEM

Sort:  

Ditto on the filters and the ability to search for specific topics you are interested in.

Thanks for such an amazing response! BTW have you started on the podcast yet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30