You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fighting Spam & Low Quality Content Together. Part 1: What Do You Think Is Spam

in #steemit6 years ago

I think people who are using Steemit as more of a blog (either about traveling, music, etc.) are probably the less spammy ones.

The most spammy ones are the ones that exist purely as re-steemits or those asking for votes.

Sort:  

I agree, but some re-steemit accounts can be good if they are not just resteeming any profitable post. If someone has similar ideas/interests to me I would like them to re-steem the content they like, as there's a good chance I/others may like it. It also helps to expand visibility for new, quality content creators who just need a little help getting noticed.

That's a totally valid point. I suppose it just boils down to intent. Are you sharing/blogging/etc to make money as a priority? If so, and it's blatantly obvious, then your content may be cheapened by that fact. Though knowing this doesn't necessarily add anything toward this article's intention, which is stopping spam. The fact is, you're not going to stop spam. That's not saying you shouldn't try though. If you hate spam/clickbait/etc then simply don't participate in its circlejerk!

That is exactly what I’m trying to accomplish. If you take around, a lot of those spammy/low quality posts get loads of upvotes, giving the creators no Reason to change their ways. If everybody would stop upvoting those posts, spamming wouldn’t be profitable anymore...

I agree. I used some Resteem services to make sure this post would reach as many people as possible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67