You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Creating a More Accepting Society - a response to @dan 's post on "Radical Transparency"

in #steemit7 years ago

Society will change (and is changing) but it is impossible to know how. I remember reading about 'free-men on the land'; a bunch of lawyers who realised that there was a loophole in english law which stated that you could renounce your citizenship by writing a letter to the queen and that if she didn't respond within 14 days then you were owed a parcel of land or something, and effectively were exempt from all statutory law outside of common law (killing, stealing and other basic human rights). Obviously it came with a LOT of drawbacks but some of these guys were so good they managed to break uk laws, charge the police force for any time they spent in custody and then SACK the judge when they got to court. Seriously inspiring stuff. But I realised that I was never going to be that guy, you have to be spot on with your knowledge of the law and prepared to cope with massive resistance for the rest of your life and also an insane amount of paperwork to sustain your position. I realised that although I was effectively 'enslaved at birth' (its illegal NOT to register your child) by the 'UK Corporation' and forced to be part of a system that was long ago forced upon my ancestors, I was for the time being, going to accept being part of this system. Since then I lost my concern about being anonymous online for some reason.....perhaps because I no longer feel like my name is really me......or perhaps because it is ALL just so unreal......

Sort:  

Those sound like some fun guys to make friends with.

It is a bit overwhelming. Some things are easy to predict and some are not. The future of blockchain and AI are quite difficult to imagine but what direction people will TRY to push them in, I think, is not very to predict. It's the way so many ideas and philosophies and motives bounce off each other and come together that always surprises us.

If I'm allowed some room to be myself within their corrupt system, I'll play along a bit. I'm not looking to fight with anyone. But I will insist on freedom wherever I can. Our experience is a culmination of the (often misguided?) beliefs and desires of 7 billion something people. No need to fight against it. But we can shift it when we come together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57