Steemit Needs Series #34: Pls. Comment With Your Ideas to Improve Steemit!! | 1/5/2017 | Community Engagement | Archives to help Developers / Community.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago


Hi again everyone! I am keeping my word to keep the series going!

I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.


Comments sections here are GOLD as we know, some great TIL learning and tips usually pop up too here.


Part of the reason I do this series and share other things / series I do, is for the TON of new people coming to Crypto and Steemit daily, I mention this daily in a post or comment somewhere.

They need help and resources. They feel lost when they are Steemit / Crypto noobs. I know I did.

Comments sections are great learning places for all of us -- but new Crypto folks especially.


We are all early adopters here, if you are even close to reading this today. I say this OFTEN to remind people.

--

We can use Blockchain and Crypto for so many great things to help humanity but once in awhile it is fun to just joke about everyone going to the moon with lambos and whatnot.

It's important to gather feedback from new crypto and Steemit folks as well as older ones.


Views, Spam, Engagement & Meaningful Comments:


Views and engagement still seem to be down and that is why I try to do so many posts / series to BOOST engagement.


The last while I have been wondering if it simply because we have so many accounts here now.


I was the first person to blog that I am aware of - of us crossing the $300k account mark months ago. The other part of me is thinking -- how many of those are just bots because that is a rising problem?

And if there ARE that many accounts.... one might think the comments section would be growing exponentially with all our posts too, right?

Spam and spammy comments are one of the biggest topics now every single day in the community here and many of us are struggling with it, and how to deal with it.


It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members. I can combine them into one post later on if needed to help developers or members.

It is easily searchable also -- as I use the same key phrases / words etc. in the title to keep it searchable - more easily.

I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the TIL or HOWTO tags -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought about that one for a couple mins.


If you want to tag people or share it so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is relatively newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Fat Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.



Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones in the past to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use!!


Noobs can find the TIL or HowTo tags and nuggets here helpful, as I mentioned earlier here.

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 / E.2 /E.3...4/5/6/7/8/9, etc etc - was in the title, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.


We must always head towards the path of Liberty. And help others on this path.

--



Thanks for reading, have a nice day.




If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!



Your input is definitely valued. I have been notified the Steemit Developers know of this series and can use it, and have asked for input from it to see what we want as a Community.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.



The Philosophy of Steemit:

--

Build a Community. Help One Another.

Blog. Comment. Find Good Content.

Get Paid.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/facebook-wallet-fridays-show-me-yours-or-e-29-or-that-s-right-think-on-that-a-new-series-for-outreach-and-to-give-fb-the

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/crypto-101-video-5-mins-wcn-the-world-crypto-network-today-in-bitcoin-2018-01-05-visa-shuts-down-bitcoin-debit-cards-bitcoin

https://steemit.com/eos/@barrydutton/crypto-101-market-update-welcome-to-fud-fridays-again-or-updated-or-new-crypto-fam-markets-usually-dip-on-fridays-do-not-panic

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemitcampfire-series-weekend-35-is-tonight-just-a-reminder-and-runs-all-weekend-again-starts-in-a-few-hours-consider

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-what-is-risk-premium-or-e-55-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/freedom/@barrydutton/when-informed-canadians-on-their-fraudulent-monetary-policy-want-a-snack-and-a-good-read-on-how-to-rid-the-country-of-central

https://steemit.com/eos/@barrydutton/crypto-sale-again-get-to-buyin-that-dip-or-30-50-coins-on-sale-crypto-market-dips-usd20b-coins-on-sale-bitshares-eos-hanging

https://steemit.com/steem/@barrydutton/just-powered-up-some-more-steem-what-a-week-for-steemit-and-usdsteem

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/meme-ing-the-blockchain-or-e-41-or-star-wars-yoda-and-the-crypto-fud

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/5eqaim-we-all-gotta-learn-so-i-keep-saying-it-or-short-form-post

https://steemit.com/curation/@barrydutton/new-year-s-edition-the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-45-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures

Most stock Images / Gif's day to day- usually via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.
Sources usually on image or credited if I cannot find it on an image, but sometimes I forget, sorry if this bothers anyone.


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first ~13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

-

Sort:  

Hi Barry!!

We are a new team that is going to help with promotion not only of posts but steem as a blockchain too.

From a being a realtor you probably know quite a lot about unique ways of marketing and promotion. Our team is now following you.. please keep it up. You have a lot to offer every steem user.
We really love how the philosophy of steem is "Build a Community. Help One Another."

We hope more people do this too... it takes a lot of time and effort but it is worth it.

Loading...

I think first and foremost Steemit needs to work on their functionality. I do know they are still in BETA, but notifications for replies, comments, and shares would be very much welcome. As it would help people find and prolong conversations and that would increase engagement on the platform.

The second Steemit should weed out the users who flag war and destroy peoples reputations just because they feel like it. Those accounts should be banned indefinitely and the IP address which they were created from banned from making accounts again.

I also believe the "big dogs" should encourage the new users with quality content by giving them some votes so they can see earning on Steemit is very much possible. The more people earn on Steemit the more the value of Steemit goes up and that is, in the end, all of our goals. Steam and SBD price goes up, and we are all happy.

Transaction errors where people lose their money for missing one later should be reversible. Even though it is the user fault I have seen some people lose a lot of money which was supposed to go for good causes to a tiny error. It is not fair and there should be support people can contact so their hard earned money is returned.

I love this platform and it has amazing potential but there is a lot more work to be done. It can get even better in the future. Steemit could be the future of social networking. I truly believe so. :)

Thank you for asking this question. Have an amazing day. :)

i want to make money on steemit..... but i cant

Keep trying.. I'm new here as well but from what I've read and learned so far it just takes time like anything else in life. I've found it to be helpful to follow influential people and try to help others out as much as I can and just hope people return the kind gestures in return.

Other than my cat eyes shooting out lazer beam? Hmmm.

It be nice to show peoples reputation score in your wallet. That way people can waste even less time when someone sub 25 reputation hits up your wallet over something.

It also would be nice if you have someone on mute it blocks transactions from them.

Good stuff buddy.

I'd also really like a favourites feature. one of the main problems is keeping up with people who you really like. you miss their posts in the flow. I'd like to be able to have a favourites list as a separate feed. maybe it's limited to 30 like witness choices but I'd be able to keep up with the people who really matter to me on steemit instead of having to google search for their latest post !
n'am sayin ?

Great stuff thanks for your efforts @barrydutton. I am new here so tell if this is crazy or impractical,
...I would like to see a loss of voting power with each additional post per day. It would be great to see everyone post their one must post idea, rather than whatever is on their mind that second, they post something to get into the crawl for new posts, for a few minutes, then post something else half baked a few minutes later, and so on. I wouldn't want to be tyrannical and take away anything on here, but having some kind of loss in voting power for each additional post daily after one would be my suggestion. Your thoughts @barrydutton?

I endorse everyone to create a dozen bot accounts and flood steem with bad activity that is silencing average folks for expressing their comments and posts! Then maybe it will be bad enough for whoever is in charge here to make some changes. The bad actors are profiting while silencing all dissenters. Especially ones producing good content and gaining a following. Everything else is a waste here until its fixed and I am going rouge to fix it!
I wrote about it here! Flagged down because I supported @haejin against the NAZIS. https://steemit.com/steem/@fractalfreedom/steem-the-biggest-bot-platform-yet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61