Steemit Needs: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! E. 5 - Community Engagement.

in #steemit7 years ago


Hi again everyone! I am keeping my word to keep the series going! It's now many weeks after the big changes, the Steem Powering down en masse started and some cashouts for that are done, some bugs fixed and the last Hard Fork, and the whale "experiment" on their DV (downvoting/ abstaining of voting) - to give the rest of us more voting power on the platform which of course, has caused some controversy too.


I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.


It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members. I can combine them into one post later on if needed to help developers or members.

It is easily searchable also -- as I use the same key phrase in the title to keep it searchable - more easily.


I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the HOWTO tag -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought about that one for a couple mins.

These posts often gather a lot of good comments and feedback since it is connected to things like tutorials, Steemit 101 things, etc.



If you want to tag people or share it so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.

Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use that have visibility!!

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 / E.2 /E.3 etc. were in the titles, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.







If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset if I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online & will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.


Sort:  
  1. The ability to filter user's feed by languages and tags.

  2. Enabling users to block out other users completely so that not only they will not see them on the feed, but also the blocked user will not be able to comment on the blocking usrer's feed.

  3. Full multy language support in the editor, including RTL and other complex script support.

I agree, have thought similar on those things for awhile now, many others have asked for those too.

Thanks for sharing today!!!

I would LOVE for it to become the All-in-One place taking the best from Twitter/Facebook/Youtube and implementing it here. It would take the monopoly away from them and their censorship nonsense and bring people who aren't easily offended together where they can share ideas freely & make some money off it!

People get offended so easy. You are right and also to get the info and the money and attention economy away from global fascists who care nothing about us and connect that wealth line directly to the people like here.

Good ideas --- TY for the comments today friend!

LOL, offended and the state.

Solid share by you, thanks.

Thanks, also forgot Reddit! If they allowed channels like Reddit I think would be an awesome feature as well.

Hey there i have my personal view about some changes . Probably it wont work but at last i will like to change this for miself . I usual dont link my posts but this time i will . Have a nice day and happy steeming !
https://steemit.com/positivity/@patelincho/i-will-ask-you-please-do-not-upvote-me-autonatic-positive-thought-or-reasoning-day-8

It is OK.

I try not to link posts too much myself but sometimes for sure, it is needed, no problem my friend.

TY for your input on things today!!!!! Be well yourself.

Thank you ! Happy steeming !

Let's all power up all the posts for 30 days and see what's going on after that! I think it will be great! I start powering up 6-7 days ago and I earned 2000 steem of power! That's the best thing I have ever done and I'm going to do it for a long time! Plus I and @thedegensloth made a challenge: power up challenge​ for 30 days!​ Everyone can join!

That experiment has gained traction.

Most of my stuff has been 100% powered up since I joined in August, except for the posts I have done where I do a donation post to help a Steemit community member.

I always wanted to invest here and keep my earnings and sweat equity inside the platform here. I am in a spot now, where the last 2 weeks I finally had to make a few 50/50 posts for liquid needs.\

  • TY for your input, nice to see you around still!!!

:D You will see me for a long time @barrydutton! You are doing a great work by the way!

Not everyone thinks so LOL but I will take a kind word when I can get it!

TY my friend.

I have a pretty useful post coming out, not sure what day, about EDC tools people should consider carrying on them daily.

#EDC

#EveryDayCarry

#Bushcraft

  • and just daily life

I can't wait to see it, man! Let me know when is out!

If you can remember, just check back, look down my page. If I can remember I will find you and share the link in one of your replies so you will find it quicker.

I just finished the photos.

Question, you are male I assume? I am trying to find out why more women are not in crypto and also a post like this EDC stuff, I think more women need to engage in learning about for practical purposes.

I'm hoping for some sort of direct / private messaging mechinism. Having to go outside of #steemit to connect with folks is a major pain in the neck.

Deb I love you LOL, your blue collar language is one of the best parts of my day, anytime I hear from you LOL.

I wish you were the mayor of

#SteemitTown

lol

#Deb4Mayor

lol

ROFL!! Then you'll appreciate that I self-censored and used a less controversial part of the anatomy.

Maybe #Deb4Dogcatcher... Mayor is too much like work. Heheheheh!

Emailed you a few mins ago...

Just hit 10k Steem Power! What a long Minnow Life that was eh? You relate!!!

I know LOL, that is partly why I was LOL'g in my living room today reading your stuff.

  • yer a beaut Debby. lol

That is highest form of Canadian praise allowed by....... "law."

But yes, always have agreed with this, right from my early days here.

TY for your awesome feedback and friendship. I lost some key supporters on here, I noticed for a fact when I went on #SteemitStrike, out of principle and walked away from a week of huge payouts knowingly.

Start ups are generally messy, loud, and confusing. Steemit is no different. I know they have their priorities, but this one just baffles me.

As far as the 'experiment', fingers crossed it's winding down. I usually try to steer clear of those kind of flare-ups, but this one was obviously hurting a lot of folks. My objection was the callous attitude shown towards those being harmed. I still don't think that message has been given due weight... in spite of a certain person's attempt to 'smooth things over'. Too little, too late, and smacks of more attention whoring. I'm soooooo done with that duo. I plan on giving them no more energy. They don't deserve any more of yours either, honestly.

Steem on, bud..!

Agreed on all counts.

I'm with aunt Deb! Also make it easier to post pics/memes on comments like they did on posts!

I can make a whole lot improvement proposals, but let me list the ones that I recently been in conversations in with other Steemers.

BTW, I do like linking in other posts, this creates a circular knowledge base!

Question: do you have direct contact with the development team @ Steemit Inc? Or Witnesses? Other developers eg 3rd party developers either within the Steemit community or outside?

Great suggestions....

No I do not really have connections to the dev's I know a couple on a cursory level only

@timcliff is involved a lot but not officially - just active. You have probably seen his name a lot of you know some of this stuff here you discuss today, no doubt.

TY for commenting.

If you dont mind me asking, how do you make sure developers and Steemit Inc and witnesses do actually see this post and ideas?

You write in your post:

My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members.

You send it to them. Via chat or other ways.

It also sits here and some people have memorable posts or series, (in my case) so then like I was saying in the body of the post here..

you can easily search the title for the series you are looking for and find it

Ok cool!

Hi, @barrydutton! I enjoy the the reading. Thank you!

NP

Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Ability to choose which picture is the thumbnail for your post, as opposed to the default first picture (at least, I can't figure out how to change it if this is already a feature).
  2. More editing features. Underlining, right-aligning, text-wrapping in Markdown.
  3. OR, an automatic preview with HTML editor.

Mine are all technical but I haven't been here long enough to have input on the social aspect of it!

Yes! Great stuff

Ability to choose which picture is the thumbnail for your post, as opposed to the default first picture (at least, I can't figure out how to change it if this is already a feature).

agreed a million % on that.

Your #2 -- that stuff is available in markdown largely or all of it, from what I have seen or know.

TY for stopping in!

Apparently I need to do more research, because I can't figure out how to underline! Great post, I resteemed. Brainstorming ways to make the platform better can only help in the long run :)

TY for that, it is appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80