Blogging on Steemit or Wordpress: How Much can You Make on Both Platforms?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have been consistently blogging on steemit for over 5months since i discovered this platform in late June this year. The experience has been awesome and most importantly the opportunity to learn and same time earn is a great one. My root in internet marketing is blogging and i have been a blogger many times and also a former blogger couple of times.

After laying a solid foundation of my steemit career on good relationship, mentorship and dedication, i'm now thinking of going back to setup a wordpress blog so i could achieve my long term dream of becoming a professional and influencial blogger in the world. I love to write and i do it almost daily here on steemit. Most importantly i love to teach by sharing my knowledge with other people.

If one happens to get himself a successful and interesting steemit career by doing the right thing, the temptation not diversify your income sources, time and online investment will come and if one fall for the temptation it could pay off or not depending on individuals and some factors.

But generally, it feel safe to diversify in all areas of life so we could have options when we need to. Diversification puts a shield over us against unforeseen events that could have negative effect on our lives.

STEEMIT OR WORDPRESS?


Comparing the earning potential of blogging on steemit to setting up a self-hosted wordpress blog, is not something i would like to spend time doing because the difference is obvious.

Steemit makes it far easy to begin blogging and earning. Steemit is the only blogging platform currently in the world that i am aware off, that offer the opportunity for anyone to earn their first dollars with their first blog post. And many even go on to make fortune with just a introduction post. This isn't realistic with a self-hosted blog except maybe what you set up is a sales page.

On steemit you don't have to struggle much to get audience other wise known as traffic in blogging to your blog. If you ask true bloggers, they will tell you that one of the greatest challenges in blogging is getting the right people to read your blog posts. Steemit solves the challenge in a simple way and makes it far easy to get seen, read and known by a lot of people even when you're just a beginner.

Most importantly It's free to set up a blog on steemit and that wouldn't cost you anything more than your time and commitment, while a self-hosted blog will also cost you more time and commitment you will as well have to still spend some money to get it up and running. You need a domain name, a web hosting package and some professional and helpful plugins. All of these don't come free.

So Why Do I Still Want to SETUP a WordPress Blog?


Just as much differences as there are between these two options, there are as well some interesting similarities and these similarities are my reasons for considering a WordPress Blog.

A WordPress Blog is Also An Asset: just the way a steemit account is a great asset depending on your account estimated value, reputation and followers. If you manage to develop a professional and successful self-hosted blog, you could turn it into a money making machine if you apply good monetization strategies and one day it could be worth much that you could even sell it off.

Self Hosted Blog Give Room for Diverse Promotion: i am careful what i recommend here and i put a self limitation on promoting affiliate system using my steemit blog. I focus more and follow the direction of the community and that determine the type of post i put out at a particular time. There are some affiliate programs you shouldn't promote on steem because steemit wasn't designed for product sales and promotion or referring system. But a self hosted blog is the opposite.

Tell More People About Steemit Through my Wordpress Blog: i want to use the blog to target newbies coming into the crypto world and lecture them on the best investment choices (both time and money) they could make based on my personal experience. I will work hard at getting more people to discover steemit through my blog and that will also help my steemit ministry.

So what do you think about this? Do you think one is better than another or do you think both would work rightly? I will be glad to hear your opinions.



If this post inspired, motivate, or educate you, why not resteem so others can experience same? If you upvote as well I will be glad and your comment will make me believe you did both.


Sort:  

Good points. I guess having a self-hosted platform can give you more freedom and, as you mention, act as a useful asset for future goals. I started out with a wordpress.com (not .org) site. The Wordpress platform is very customisable and your posts also go out to other bloggers, which helps you grow and connect with like-minded people.

But, just like with the .org site, you can't really make direct money from it. So that's why I chose to start using Steemit too. Been nice so far. :)

The .org site has some advantages though. For example, having your own domain name and also probably more freedom and flexibility.

Cheers on your new venture. Wishing you the best!

Thanks man, i appreciate your time sharing your experience with me and yes steemit makes more sense with the fact that you can begin making money directly. Though it has some limitation as well but when we combine both ventures, we have something greats as financial assets.

U are such a great inspiration to many of us here good job @bania thank for the sbd u send to appreciate

|Welcome bro, and thank you for participating in my giveaway, i hope to see you more around here

I used to blog on blogger before but now after learning about steemit I focus on it. But I am thinking why don't use steemit to promote my blog too. Since steemit single post earn in a span of seven days while on blogger a single can earn the lifetime with adsense and other monetary.

Yeah man, that's another way of looking at it and that makes blogging on other platforms worth it

Thanks for that input

The issue I have with wordpress or any self hosted blog is that your readers are not empowered enough to reward you for the time it takes to provide them with free quality information.
Unlike Steemit, readers do not reward you out of pocket but by virtue of the power they have in the steem community. It would be better to port your Steemit posts to Wordpress rather than Wordpress to Steemit.
Here you have a community that is close knit and personally invested in what you have to offer to them.
Ps: Thank you for the SBD you sent me.

Welcome bro and that's a brilliant contribution from you. Steemit still seem to have the most advantage over conventional blogging platforms but having an alternative does work and that's why i will be doing this.

I guess it depends on how you look at it. In the short term, yes, Steemit does have an advantage over a self-hosted site. But in the long term, if you build a community on your own site and you monetise it through affiliate marketing and your own products, could be more financially rewarding.

But yeah, for now, I'm using Steemit alongside Wordpress (not self-hosted) to get the most out of my writing. :) Wordpress is a long-term project for me, whereas I'm hoping to start getting monetarily compensated early on with Steemit. Let's see how it goes. :D I'm still a Minnow.

Thanks for sharing your views though. You do have a point. :)

You should use many oppurtunity as you can. So i believe if you want to take attention you need to use channels and i recommend you to add youtube and instagram also to your account. Like you said it is has their own specific way of content to attact people . At the end you can put all together with a wordpress blog.

Yeah, thanks for your great contribution bro.

I have plans to add youtube as i already added twitter and instagram and i am working to make everything works.

" I love to teach by sharing my knowledge with other people"

Appreciate your kind words. @bania
Upvote and resteemed

I kept my wordpress as well... anyway, thank you, you know what I mean... and good luck! Success for you! I am glad to know a very youbg hardworker like you.

Yeah, thanks so much for participating in my giveaway and coming back to comment on my update.

Thank you sir for the sbd sent to me 💪😁😱

Welcome bro and thank you for taking time to check out my update

I followed you, already made my day, i will always support

Nicely said, following you!

Welcome man

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44