Have you had any previous experience with blogging before joining Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I had 8 years of content writing experience before I joined steemit. When I joined steemit, it was kind of my world feeling. But gradually when I started writing, I realized that my writing skills were severely damaged because I took a break from writing. But steemit definitely gave me good opportunity to bring back my writing skills. Writing is one of my area of interest. The main reason is because when ever my mind is full of thoughts, I can sit and write them down in the form of articles. During my school days I remember writing diaries. I don't know why I left that habit but I'm really happy that I'm about to continue that habit today by writing at least something every day.  

I used to have personal blogs where I was writing on some random topics. I was also doing lots of freelance writing works. I used to get projects from some of my contacts and write articles for Ezine and other SEO based websites. Then I joined a website called Indiastudychannel. It used to be a quite popular site during my college days. I was managing one of the regional websites of IndiaStudyChannel. That is where I learnt a lot about SEO and keywords. The prime focus was to increase the Google Adsense revenue. I was given great freedom to experiment so many things when I was managing the site. It was an interesting experience. 

After this exposure, I joined my regular job and I was unable to give full focus on the website as webmaster. I moved on with my regular job which was no way connected to writing at all. That is where I gave a long gap to writing. Even though I was quite busy with my office works, I wanted to try out content writing again.  I spoke my old contacts after few years and managed to get some projects back. But just because I moved on to a different stream in my life, writing articles was really painful for me. I was continuously skipping deadlines. It was not at all a good sign. 

Later I found a client who was really flexible with the deadlines. The project was kind of like, if I write an article I get paid no compulsion. I can write how much ever I want and whenever I was. This type of flexibility was very interesting and that helped me bring back my speed. I worked for multiple clients and I used to deliver articles of different type. Medical article projects were one of my favourite. I once used to write more than 15 articles per day. Each article would pay me like 5 to 10 $ and within one year I managed to earn a lot. 

I completely invested my earnings on the internet back again to explore other opportunities. I started website designing projects as well. When my focus went towards website designing projects, I had to again take a break on content writing. Here comes the exciting part. After a long break I was looking for opportunities to start writing contents again. At the same time, there were lots of discussion going on about cryptocurrencies everywhere. I started exploring what cryptocurrency is all about. I slowly started to digest the basics and I was looking for a way to create cryptocurrencies in other ways without mining of investing. That is when I landed in steemit. The first month was really amazing. I did not focus on writing at all. The platform was very helpful for me to read and understand more information about cryptocurrencies. 

Then later after few months, I made up my mind that I should definitely write at least one article per day without any interruption. The effort is still continuing and I manage to write at least a minimum of one article per day. Recently I have even increased my contribution to more than 1 article per day. I really like my persistency and I recommend the same to others as well. Choosing a topic to write was quite challenging for me before few months. I was writing blogs in my wordpress website and publishing it in steemit. I still continue to do it but sometimes I don't get a good topic to write via my personal blog. But for the past few months after I joined @musing, my most of the contributions to the steem blockchain are through @musing only. Choosing a topic to write has become a lot easier now. I never expected I would give such a big answer for this question. Anyways it was good to write about my experience. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Good questio to answer.i belive many are not even knew the meaning of blogging before knowing about steemit. I have few example...who just joined for sake of rewards..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes there are some people like you who truely enjoy writing blogs ignoring the fact that it is rewarding or not. I really appreciate that. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha..thanks champ😉 i just share things ...not an active blogger

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55