Did your Great Post go by completely ignored?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Meanwhile "Guess what I have in my Pocket (tm)" earned $1000!?!? What's up with that?

Hopefully, for the optimist in me, there are about three main streams of posts.

  1. Gamified posting by people who are here to make a profit and little else. They may have a vague idea that improving the community improves their return, but they won't let that stop them from extracting as much cash as they can get from the system. There's nothing wrong with that, like people who gamify their lives and earn big paychecks, that's their right and they are the sharp edge of the axe of civilization, driving the wedge with the weight of everyone else behind them. We need each other. They decided at some point to learn and do what it takes and they have their reward.

  2. High effort posts by dedicated Steemers which can only gain points by random chance. Ten or fifteen posts that I wish I had the time to read have gone by while I write this. Maybe I will get back to them some day, maybe I will search them out when I need them. But it won't do much good to vote on them at that point. It would be nice if there were some residual profit that could be made by them for late votes. I know I have read at least 100 three month old posts to learn about Steemit, for which no one got any credit. This includes creative art, literature and educational posts, which always have a value, but excludes gamified post which lose their value as soon as they earn their reward.

  3. Last, but perhaps most important, personal posts which build the community but have little other measurable value. They are topical, passionate, opinionated, supportive, and have a value for having existed, in that you and I, for instance, may have a conversation that reflects in our future posts. Immeasurable and technically unrewardable, but a real value nonetheless. Current votes on those posts reflect that value, but poorly.

Hopefully we all try to read, vote, and respond to all three of these kinds of posts, but unless things change, #2 and #3 will always be undervalued.


To improve the community and the value of STEEM,
Post and vote for creative, original work that you like.
Powerup 100% if you can.
Support the newbies.

Sort:  


Sniff
Yessssss
My Great American Novel...(TEOTWAWKI)...serialization..isn't making me millions of dollars....as it should.
sniff boo hooo

Great post. I don't resent no 1 type posts either. It is sad that type 2 can't get rewarded in the long tail - I believe Ned said they would be looking at using ad supported rewards for that at some point. I think type 3 were really heavily rewarded early on but not so much now.

Ads is an idea that I hope becomes a reality. Only positive results can come from it. More revenue for development, more investors, more earnings for posts (new and old). No downside really, and they can be tastefully presented too so they aren't an eyesore.

Yes definitely.

Although I would not turn away a bot vote, I highly appreciate a vote from someone who actually reads one of my posts. I don't have many posts right now; I've been busy reading others, but will post more in the near future.
I appreciate your thoughts and effort of this post, so I upvoted, resteemed and followed you. When I can, I will read a few of your previous posts and look forward to your future posts.

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 21 Nov 2016 - 20:54 UTC

Did your Great Post go by completely ignored? — Steemit

steemit.com/steemit/@baerd… / https://t.co/uoz4DFVi1C

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I don't like the Reddit way that make people only look for new content. Once your post goes about 20 hours unnoticed, well that's it.

I just read and upvote posts that interest me, period. I'm not sure if I'm doing it right though. :)

I agree, there is so much great stuff to read. I try and go through my followed list and check out any new stuff that catches my eye. It is insane that you cannot upvote any article/post no matter how old.
24hrs seems to be the magic cut off number. After this it becomes a type of Flying Dutchman, destined to sail the empty Sargasso Sea, unmanned into the Blockchain doldrums;D(

I think if we advocate for, and give a good method of, valuing the great body of posts from the past, and it shows up in an update, people might spend the time to write those great posts today.

Yes there could be a Archive Post Upvote that would register and start something.
I realise it's now all on the ever forward flowing, never look back Blockchain.
But with enough verified Steemit user Archive Upvotes, it could trigger a reposting as a new updated Article, perhaps?
I will leave it for the Steemit geeks to fill in the blanks and stop any misuse;D~

I tried to imagine some ways, like if the original period earned 1$ through 100 votes in the original voting period, the 101st vote earns $1/101, the 200th earns $1/200

But it would obviously have to be much more complex than that.

Its very slow on here at the moment, fingers crossed things pick up :)

Since becoming a steemian, I try to read as many posts as I can and send some word of agreement or encouragement. As has been said before; we'er all in this together. :-)

Excellent post, baerdric! I have upvoted, resteemed, and am following you. I look forward to your future posts.
My posts fall into the third category and I believe you and @thecryptofiend are correct about this type no longer having the voting rewards it once did.
Thanks for your interest and insight on this point. I believe many feel the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05