You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal To Remove Up-Vote Option From Feeds

in #steemit7 years ago

Omar,
This site needs more curators and authors like you. It's unfortunate that you've stopped writing lengthy posts because you are not rewarded for your best work. I too have noticed that I get about the same rewards if I post a random pic or a link as I do when I spend hours writing a really good post. I really don't care about the financial rewards too much, but I would like to be engaged in an active community. I would rather have someone read my whole post and engage in a discussion like you did than someone upvote me for a couple STEEM. Getting more upvotes than views is actually discouraging for me as an author because I know they really don't give a shit about what I'm saying. Also, when I click on a trending story that has made a lot of STEEM, I want to know that it's actually going to be worth reading. The substantiative rating is a good idea, but I thought that's what upvotes were supposed to mean in the first place!

Sort:  

I agree with you that we need to have an active community of members. According to what I know, there are about half a million accounts on steemit. Out of that many users, there are only about 10,000 active users. Even among these 10,000 active users, I think the real number of daily users who actually read through a fair numbers of posts, do some decent curating, and post something decent is probably closer to 2,000.

Also, the whales get almost like "automatic" upvotes for whatever they post. When I click and actually read their posts, I don't even find them to be worthy of an upvote. That may be just my opinion, but I have often been told that I have an eye for good content.

There's so much that's not right with this platform. However, I do see some positive things which is why I still continue to post. I have gotten some level of interaction because of posts. I've noticed that if I interact with the few members on here, who create meaningful posts, by reading their posts, many have reciprocated.

I'm like you in a way that if I've taken the time out to write something meaningful, then I should have some kind of audience that actually does go through my posts by reading everything carefully and leaving thoughtful comments. It's not always about the financial rewards, but if I am going to invest my valuable time into something, then I should be rewarded accordingly. It's only fair, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51