Why Aren't My Thumbnail Images Showing Up?!

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit.jpg

This Steemit Community is AMAZING.

Everyone is so friendly, generous, and helpful in supporting you as you navigate the site as a newbie. I was having trouble with figuring out why the heck some thumbnail images are showing up while others aren't.


All it took was asking the question and within an hour, I had a fellow steemit friend provide some tips.


Apparently, the only thing preventing the images from showing up were the parentheses I had in the .jpg file name.

Here's how my friend @kenny-crane explained it:

Parenthesis ( ) will "close" the background-image attribute of the span that contains the image, which messes up the HTML and therefore the image does not show. It actually sounds like a steemit bug because they should encode the parenthesis so it does not do this to the HTML.


If you have this image on your computer, rename it and try it again. I think it will work fine if you take out the parenthesis from the file name.


Parenthesis ( ) will "close" the background-image attribute of the span that contains the image, which messes up the HTML and therefore the image does not show. It actually sounds like a steemit bug because they should encode the parenthesis so it does not do this to the HTML.


If you have this image on your computer, rename it and try it again. I think it will work fine if you take out the parenthesis from the file name.



And that's it!


Just getting helped like this, so quickly and so generously from a complete stranger brought a big grin to my face because HOLY CRAP!! Isn't this the coolest thing? Being a part of a community where we are all supportive of one another's growth, where we want to see one another succeed, and where we are all invested in creating valuable, insightful, awesome content?! I've been waiting for this kind of thing for what feels like forever! Week 2 on Steemit and I'm hooked :)


Thank you again @kenny-crane !

Sort:  

This is a great community and we do want to see one another succeed! Keep up the good work here; I really enjoy your articles! Post, comment on other's pieces, vote -- and I know you will enjoy your time here on steemit!

Thank you Kenny!

You're right Kenny! Totally agree!

This was super helpful, just saved me, since I was having this issue. Upvoted :)

Yes! Yay :) So glad, I know I was so frustrated by this!

Thankfully I think they fixed it now. 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙌🏼

This totally worked for me. Had just googled to search why the thumbnail wasn't showing up and found this post - thanks so much.

YESS!!!! So glad this helped :)

Damn it! i wish i had more SP to up-vote this :) You saved my day @auroralyrayoga

You're too kind! Glad I could help :)

Thanks! Really Good Worked For Me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42