My first week on Steemit and I'm loving it!

in #steemit7 years ago

So I joined Steemit a week ago, and even though I didnt know Steemit quite well, I still set some goals for myself. These goals were to get 10 followers and a reputation of 40 (to be able to verify myself). Although I didnt reach these goals (6 and 35 respectively), I am still pleased with myself for learning a lot about Steemit.

I discovered that it is not a social-media platform like Facebook. You actually have to create content to get rewarded, unlike Facebook where whales can like a post and it gets famous in mere seconds. Ofcourse Steemit also knows some kind of whaling system and some of my comments or posts earned me 'way' more than others while getting less upvotes. But this is due to the Steem Power those upvoters had and therefore due to the fact those people invested more into the platform to gain more influence.

A week ago I wanted to create a weekly blog about the blockchain technology and it's influence on the accounting business. So far I have posted almost daily and intend to keep doing so. Yet I do plan to post about a broader interest. Blockchain and accounting will still be a frequent part of my posts, yet I feel like Steemit is a way to share many thought, no matter what their basis is.

For now Steemit is a way to discover my passion by sharing information and also learning alot via others' posts. I expect to gain some followers and reputation in the future, but right now I don't really care how fast this will happen. This is mostly due to me needing some time to get the hang of Steemit and getting more familiar with the community.

So if you feel like helping me with my journey, be sure to comment on what you would like to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32