You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great Steemit’s Drama – Dan VS Ned/Whales VS Whales VS the Rest and What it Means for Steem

in #steemit6 years ago

Ok... you lost me, when you wrote that the BS guy is helping the blockchain. Sorry, but how is it possible to see it this way? Writing posts with no content and just swearing and calling people names, while indulging in flag wars and buying horrendous amounts of upvotes through bots to promote the swear posts, shutting other users up by threatening and flagging them, is helping STEEM in which way exactly?
Do you also believe, that Kim Jong Un is helping the people in North Korea?

Sort:  

Writing posts with no content and just swearing and calling people names

Agreed. I never said that I do like the way he is addressing the problem. I merely tried to convey the fact that he is ONE OF THE ONLY ONES that actually do so. He has saved TENS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS from being raped by various users.

What you are missing though is that he has already sacrificed tens of thousands of dollars himself in order to do it. I don’t find the fact that he wants at least some short-term profit so disturbing.

I have never said that i support all his moves and that I like the way he acts. The truth is though that he guards the reward pool from abusers. I also was not afraid to speak up against him when i thought it was important and I never was flagged. I guess it depends on more factors than just "you are against you’ll get destroyed". Maybe it’s about the attitude the users display.

You kinda showed that you tend to look at things as black or white. You could try to think about that bias and maybe try to remove it. Have you even finished the article? Might be you are missing an essential point:)

What I'm missing is the proof of this claim, that BS has saved thousands of $ from reward pool rape without causing the same amount of damage otherwise.
For me, getting upvotes on flame posts without content is the definition of reward pool rape.
What I'm seeing is censorship and the inability of communicating without threatening people and flagging them. What I'm seeing is reward pool rape through power plays in it's purest form.
Please enlighten me and show me the white side of this behaviour, that I couldn't find over the past weeks. Yes, I understand game theory and the possibility of a system to self-correct and self-heal.
I only think, that you are treating the virus as the healer.
(...and I'm not taking sides here - because in my opinion, it's not the flag wars that will save this platform, but starving the viruses to death through taking away attention from them and putting it on things that are healthy - and yes, in this spirit, I have already written too much about these viruses and should focus on other things instead...)
One final thing: I am totally aware, that you were not endorsing and following anyone blindly and have your own thoughts and deeper reflections on things. That's why I'm talking to you here and not to BS or any other of these cyber bullies. I know, that this is only one part of your post, that is triggering me. ...and hey, for the rest: great job! 😀

Understood. I won’t dig for proofs in the Blockchain. I’ll try to objectively sum up what has happened in last few months.

SB can remove roughly around 200 dollar upvote from a post at highest strength, which is approximately 400 dollars on average (due to SBD) during the time since I keep myself updated.

I will only mention the 2 biggest ones because i want to go and play some Atlas:P.

He has crushed someone called earthnation who has been selfvoting himself 2-3 times per day with 150 dollar vote. SB has been downvoting him for 2 weeks before earthantion stopped. That was around 6 300 bucks saved (NO SBD pump back then) + the amount taht would be stolen if he allowed earthnation to continue.

SB has been downvoting our analysts every post for about 2 months during the biggest pump of the Steem and SBD ever. BS has saved roughly around 7 500 dollars DAILY (counting in the SBD). well... do your math:P

On the other hand he has censured some anti-vaccination posts (did not agree with that regardless of what I think), and he has had some problems with some minnowbooster folks and has been heavily punishing them. I remember techslut in particular who has written a response that very much sounded like "you are retarded and doing a terrible mistake" (not accurate of course) which has led to complete stomp.

From my point of view she was the perfect example of "how not to behave with BS". That is why I said in the article that one has to choose his battles wisely and if talking with BS use only highly logical argument and no plain offensive moves. She did not deserve to be stomped that much but at the same time crying to everyone after saying something that could have been very much understood in the way I outlined is simply mistake. Knowing BS he has definitely taken it as an offensive act.

Overall as I said I hardly support all of his actions, but the guys that got stomped would hardly ever be able to create so much value for Steem as has been saved by his flags (this is just an assumption, but the amount of money taken away from analyst is just SOOO HUGE MAN...SOOO HUGE). No other whale has done that, because they knew that the analyst is firing back…BS didn’t give single fuck.

Thus said "virus” is a bad metaphor. "Bacteria" would be better. Some bacteria are causing damage, but at the same time they are very much needed. I think that every whale that would fight with flags would be considered as "virus" by huge amount of users that wouldn’t want to seek what has actually happened.

I think that starving the viruses will not work, since viruses are some whales, and they are the ones ignoring us while accumulating as much Steem as possible...ignoring them means given them space to game more rewards from the system.

Anyway this is it for me…Toooo much writing today:) I need to wind up, but at the same time I didn’t want to disappoint you by ignoring you:P.

Still, is one of the few people who takes action against the abusers. How he does it might not be the best way, but it's a lot better than taking no action.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87