Steeming Colours

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's the festival of Holi in India today.

Holi is a Hindu spring festival celebrated in the Indian subcontinent, also known as the "festival of colours". It signifies the victory of good over evil, the arrival of spring, end of winter, and for many a festive day to meet others, play and laugh, forget and forgive, and repair broken relationships.

So this is what i did last year at the eve of Holi. I painted my shared apartment wall in streaming colours.

IMG_3963.jpg

IMG_5014.jpg

I didn't use any paint brushes. Just Pichkaris (water gun) and a bucket for mixing colours. I used poster colours, which later i discovered was a big mistake whoever took back rest had colours smudged all over their backs. Specially people who wore whites. I started with yellow, being the lightest, followed by mustard, green, blue, dark blue, orange and finally crimson.

I didn't do it alone. It was only the yellow colour that i threw on the wall, after that i just mixed colours and shouted instructions to my flatmates of how and where to throw. Needles to say drunk people do not require any encouragement to do crazy things :D

It was an amazing experience, since it relieved a lot of pressure and we loved it. Till date my flatmates talk about it in get togethers. It was the sole attraction in all the get togethers we had. And a great background for any selfie or picture.

IMG_4211.jpg

And i confess i was influenced by the technique of drip painting by Jackson Pollock. While studying in an art college it was inevitable that we didn't hear about him and my love for his work is goes all the way back to then. I really wanted to walk all over a canvas but this was more fun. And pichkari proved to be a hit. I like the freeflow of colour and it dripping down to form streams of colours. Just like someone is not restricted to express any emotions or feelings. I used to hate restricting my paints between the lines while painting.

Well my reason to post it on this amazing platform steemit is because like this wall, it gives us all a place where we can express our emotions and feelings. Every colour depicts the nature of the posts. Crimson being the angry posts. Blue being the calm posts. Green being the money related posts or financial posts. Yellow the happy posts. Orange the energetic posts. So on and so forth. I love the freedom of expression and speech here. I can totally steem(stream) any colour here and it might evoke an emotion or feeling that cannot be described.

So steem on your colours. And wishing all of my fellow steemians a very Happy Holi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33