Scammer Alert: "coolmnr"- Self up-voting comments

in #steemit7 years ago

What do you think we should do about non-value added members like @coolmnr?

https://steemit.com/@coolmnr

Look at his comments page: https://steemit.com/@coolmnr/comments (all self upvotes).

All shit posts, only upvotes his own comments, etc. This isn't good for our community and just as bad as a bot.

Please leave your comments. I've declined the payout b/c I want the community to get better and actually bring value to the Steem coin rather than so many ppl just seeing it as free money.

Sort:  

Is it that bad that people who invest significant money into steemit to get a return on it. Later this year I myself endeavour to put a large amount of money into my steem power so I can draw an income from here while I am reading and writing? Am I not helping the community if I put $100K or more into it?

i appreciate your comment and have given you a 100% upvote...as well as myself :)

really good point. Since I posted this, I have changed my opinion on investing in Steem and drawing a "salary" from it.

Hi Ashe-oro,

I just checked out your post right now. I don't get it.
I like the steem community and try to participate in a way that I try to help people, give advice and share my thoughts. I also invested a lot of my money into steem and put it in here just so I can be a member of the community. If you think its a shit post that I predict Ethereum gonna rise, and today it already did hit the $338 (I predicted 2 days ago) its your choice.

I just want to discuss and share my thoughts on here. I dont think a scammer will invest more then $20K to post on here and trying help the community grow up.

Wishing all of you a nice day :)

thanks for your feedback. I thought it was scammy how you vote up nearly all of your comments. You're right, tho. You invested in to the community and can only vote yourself if you'd like. Heck, i'll even vote up your comment now.

Hi Ashe-oro,

No problem. Vote back for you ;)
I will follow you from now on :)

I don't think it's right to gather up a lynch mob to dish out punishment (not that these are your intentions). As a saying goes, "don't hate the player, hate the game". It looks like he has invested money into steem and is rewarding himself. Ned himself has said that you should be entitled to get a return on your investment. @ned empowers scam behavior.

The issue is clearly the SYSTEM. Creating the ability to be able to do what he is doing. I've never self voted myself. It feels highly egotistical and fake. Though I do agree with many that say "a self vote simple gets the ball rolling". Heck, it's there as an option when you make a post. Steemit is broken. Exploiters only find exploits when loop holes exist.

You are right to want to clean up the platform though. I admire your initiative and support you. Let's get to the heart of the problem though. The devs are the ones who need to be lynched (figuratively).

thank @teknow. I love voting up your comments. They are always top notch. Thx again for your feedback.

Thanks @ashe-oro you're too kind.
I am merely an observer.
You are the true value here.
You are a true leader for voicing discontent.
Community matters so it is just and right to question.
These issues need to be dealt with or SMTs will always have a monkey on their back. Incentives to exploit the system will also only expand and create bigger issues.

@nathen007 you gained a follower. Smooth play! lol

Exactly what Id have said if I had the IQ to do it ! Great answer.

unfortunately thats the nature of the beast and something I touched on in my answer to your post yesterday.
Im just a new member finding my feet, but didnt I read about downvoting people costs them reputation ?
This is going to be a bigger and bigger issue as the platform grows so perhaps a community steering group could be set up to address the issue ? Just banning someone because of others judging them to be not giving value seems at odds with freedom of speech ...even if they are here just for the cash.
As I said, nature of the beast and perhaps the only real answer is to bite our lips and move on with our own thing.

i wish you couldn't upvote your own comments. Posts are OK, but comments are crap.

yes mate, that would be the obvious starting point. Financial reward should be earned by community valuing your contribution and not by shameless self promotion and system manipulation !
I just also created by first, very simple (see my MO emerging lol) post on similar theme...im not begging for votes or comments, but Id be interested in your thoughts if you could spare a few seconds to take a look. Thanks

You've actually stumbled upon one of the better ones. I've seen far worse.
https://steemit.com/steem/@jerrybanfield/steem-budget-proposals-whitepaper#@libertyteeth/re-vimukthi-re-libertyteeth-re-vimukthi-re-buwan-re-libertyteeth-re-buwan-re-snowflake-re-andrarchy-re-fredrikaa-re-jerrybanfield-steem-budget-proposals-whitepaper-20171113t074411604z
and
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@haejin/bitcoin-btc-morning-update-reversal-up-in-progress-usd7-200-first-up-target-check-out-this-extensive-analysis#@cryptosuf/re-vimukthi-re-jojof-re-vimukthi-re-subz-re-vimukthi-re-kpd-244-re-haejin-bitcoin-btc-morning-update-reversal-up-in-progress-usd7-200-first-up-target-check-out-this-extensive-analysis-20171112t182145542z

Check those 2 threads. That's only a portion of the problem. There are many such users. They are trying to game the system. If you can start with one comment spammer you'll find webs linking to other comment spammers. It has almost become a Mafia.

I've seen many concerned people like you. Glad to see this issue getting attention. Free markets cannot stay alive long without powerful deterrents. Not all spammers are 100% bad. But some are just 70% or even 100% plagiarism+spam+upvote begging.

The only effective solution is for whales to coordinate against these clear bad actors. I don't mean some guy who spam once or twice. Just flag the serial spammers.Personally I think @libertyteeth handled these cases with excellence. You should talk to him. As a minnow I can't really help much. But I can warn you that what you are witnessing is the kryptonite of steemit. Don't take this lightly or it'll really be our doom.

I'm not exaggerating. Think about the fundamentals. Why are you on steemit? Why does it matter? I know that I came here because it's the greatest massive online community on this planet. In my country there is a saying that goes: "Like a drop of cow dung in the milk pot"

That's what's going on with steemit. Milk isn't worth much with Bull Shit in it. Some people are purely on steemit for a quick buck and engage in serial spamming and related activities. Thus they should be treated as a hostile takeover. I really can't do much with my account. But I'm not too pleased about having my lovely milk crapped on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72