I'm attending the FIRST ever Steemit Meetup in Chiang Mai, Thailand!!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!!

I'm attending the FIRST ever Steemit Meetup in Chiang Mai, Thailand!! I'm fully powered up and really excited to see other Steemians in SE Asia.

Last week I attended the weekly Bitcoin/Crypto meetup which had nearly 40 people in attendance. I honestly couldn't believe it. The expat + crypto movement is growing although there weren't that many Thai people at the meetup yet. I'll let you know if that's different with a Steem specific event.

Here's a link to the event if you want to join!

So, I've moved to Chaing Mai, Thailand and it's AMAZING! It's srsly a Digital Nomad's best friend. Countless coffee shops, restaurants, incredibly old temples and plenty of Thai massage spas. And food/rent is cheap! Wonderful meals for $3 USD (aka 1 Steem soon ;)

There's even a square moat that distinguishes Old Town!

A freakin' square moat!

Here are a few pictures of my Thailand travels so far (Bangkok and Chiang Mai), and I've only been here for a week.

Awesome Zen Garden at Starbucks

Ridiculous Thai dinner

Is this Thailand or The Shire??

Scooter ONLY parking at the Chaing Mai "Maya" Mall.

My first Bitcoin meetup in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Yep, this is Asia (and one of the more respectable power poles, actually)

On top of Bangkok!

Awesome rooftop bar in Bangkok

And finally, a panorama view of downtown Bangkok

Hope you enjoyed the pictures and I'll report back after the meetup tmrw night!

In Liberty,

Ashe

Sort:  

Chiang Mai is one of my favorite places! I would love to live there someday. I visited that same rooftop bar in Bangkok (on top of the Marriott I believe right?) and it was so amazing to see the city that way.

Check out my new post about my trip to Chiang Mai! :)

will do! When were you here?

The end of May-June! I was in Chiang Mai first, then Koh Pha Ngan and then ended the trip in Bangkok! I seriously have Thailand withdrawals and can't wait to go back.

Yay! Tonight's meeting was so great!!! It's nice for us minnows to hear from some of the veteran steemians like you :) Thanks for the insights. I can't wait to listen to your podcasts.

awwww ur sweet. thank you and see ya at the next meetup :D

Thailand is an awesome place to travel. The people and the food are amazing! I'm glad you got to drink at the sky bar in Bangkok. I could only get there in the day but it looks like a great view for a cocktail. Nice work! :)

the Sky Bar was ridiculous. The skyline is amazing. Reminds me a lot of Panama City, Panama. Thx for the comment!

I haven't managed to get to Panama yet but it's on my bucket list :) You're welcome!

Wow, that's so great! I'm thin king about coming to Chiang Mai in a couple of months too! :D

it's such a great place. Very magical :)

Great to meet you tonight @ashe-oro, I look forward to many more Chiang Mai meetups..

thank you so much!

@ashe-oro got you a $7.56 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@ashe-oro got you a $7.56 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Too bad I miss this meeting. Too busy replying and posting to Thais than not look at farang side. Hope will have another edition for the foreigner, one for Thai is preparing already next time please keep me informed. Thank you for organising this meet up.

Every Thursday we have a Crypto meetup at Cube No.7! Come on out :)

Hi, @ashe-oro I am very interesting to come at the meetup on Thursday what time is it starting and also where in CM. I was about to come before but my agenda sent me to Myanmar and Malaysia. Will be nice meeting you.

Wow. Thanks for sharing!

Great! I hope you will come with some updates for us about the meet-up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49