How can You check if a News is Fake ?

in #steemit6 years ago


fakenews.jpg

There are some ways by which you can check if a News is Fake or Real. It could be just Market Manipulation and you could play right into the hands of the Manipulators.
So today I am going to point out some Methods by which you can Check if a News is Fake or not.

DQmfXyKGbYSEWzkriJ7jHPQ36TDV1CTrGgZSBcBjveo32jz_1680x8400.png

1. Check Your Source

3664279_orig.png

The first​ thing you need to do is check who has written the Article you are concerned about. Is the writer of the Article credible or just some nobody who is spinning out News. If he is credible you need to see if he has cited the Source of his/her News.
Sources are very Important in the News Business as they give credibility to the News.

DQmfXyKGbYSEWzkriJ7jHPQ36TDV1CTrGgZSBcBjveo32jz_1680x8400.png

2. Read the Entire Article

download.jpg

What I​ mean by this is that you should read the entire Article not just the Headline of it. Most of the Time Headlines are made so as to gain more Clicks, this is what is called ClickBait. The title might read The End of Bitcoin? with a small question mark at the End which you might have ignored. So read the entire Article for the Full Story.

DQmfXyKGbYSEWzkriJ7jHPQ36TDV1CTrGgZSBcBjveo32jz_1680x8400.png

3. Check if an Article is Sponsored

Sponsored-Post-600x397.png

Most of the Times organisations pay News Writers to defame Someone or Something and the News Writers are happy to do so. But while doing it they are obliged​ to give a Disclaimer that the Article is a Sponsored Article. You should check for those in an Article too as a Sponsored Article is most probably going to be Biased.

DQmfXyKGbYSEWzkriJ7jHPQ36TDV1CTrGgZSBcBjveo32jz_1680x8400.png

4. Fact Checker

Unknown.png

Finally, ​there is Google's fact Checker which could be used to check if a News is indeed a Fact or just some random BS.

DQmfXyKGbYSEWzkriJ7jHPQ36TDV1CTrGgZSBcBjveo32jz_1680x8400.png

I am sharing these Ideas with you guys so that you can know what is Real and What is Fake. Right now the Market is completely taken over by FUD and I just want to spread some awareness in any way I can.

Cover.jpg

I hope you guys liked this Post of Mine.
See you Guys in my Next Post.

Sort:  

Your bang on with this post, so many rumours and articles get thrown out onto the internet just to grab a bit of ad revenue from the additional traffic or even deliberately attempt to manipulate market movement. Very good points, well worth taking note of thank you.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

I am kind off desperate in my Own way. I am from India and I see how our Media is screwing everything just for their TRP's.

I used to read Newspapers when I​ was in School as our Principal strongly suggested we read one Daily so as to brush up on our English plus to know the News.

But that has Changed.

It has been about a Year since I have even​ bought a Newspaper in India. The Newspapers are full of BS and it really pisses me off when I see BS stories.

Nice post@arunava,maybe need little correction, why,how and for what, answer it's with our surrounding of P - that stands for people, peace, and their politics..@indian-mom

I like Posts to be Fragmented.

Plus I have a Post in Mind for all the FUD that is happening right now which kind of​ correlates​ to Why all this Fake News?

I am planning to write it Tomorrow.

Stay tuned for it.

Great@arunava, don't plan, let it happen on its moment, of mind, work the process in positive. @ indian-mom

I agree with your assesement, but I need to point out that a fact checker can be biased as well; therefore using more than one fact checker is very wise and probably a must.

I should have considered writing that.

That's a nice thinking.
I will update the post.

Thanks a lot.

Many of the bigger "fish" are trying to use the media to undermine Cryptocurrency. Look how far we have gone? Square now allows anyone to buy and sell Bitcoin. Robinhood is rolling out trading in Bitcoin and Ethereum. Singapore Airlines is ready to launch blockchain-based loyalty wallets. Dash started this year with 20 integrations and partnerships in January alone.
Even Russia is a huge investor in cryptocurrency, so why all the hate and fear? I'm telling you, there's a conspiracy...

I think so too and I am currently thinking about a Post I am going to write for Tomorrow.

Although Instead of Conspiracy I feel like it's a Coordinated​ Attack.

Even the larger publishers like Coindesk or Cointelegraph have published pieces of work where they have a conflict of interest or have invested in the specific coin without giving a disclaimer. Be very careful about news that tries to shill too much.

This is something @Cryptovate wants to stop and we want to share news and coin analysis to provide individuals with the resource available for them to do research and make informed decisions.

I know that some of the Articles are total BS that's why I rely on my own News acquiring Capabilities.

I have developed a keen nose​ for smelling out BS News lately. So I tend to stay away from those.

  1. if it's on the mainstream media, it's fake news.

that is all.

I agree lol

LOL, don't be that Criticizing ​towards Media Outlets.

What I do hate about them is that they are standing at a Neutral Position when it comes to Cryptocurrencies, they are publishing both Good as well as Bad Content about Cryptos.

But as Human Beings we have a tendency to see only the Bad news. So FUD spreads.

cryptocurrency is a great example of what i mean. they have been spread fud since the end of december driving investor sentiment down. now the news is positive, price starts going up again. pure manipulation of people and not simply reporting on the facts. they are propaganda outlets of the deep state that actually runs the world. you need to read or re-read '1984.'

There are many Factors that are in Place for this recent Fiasco.

Whale effect - they just want Cheap bitcoin to buy.

Media Effect - They just want TRP's

Political Effect - They are scaring first so that they can collect taxes later.

Bank Effect - They are simply scared of Cryptos.

Everything is fake nowdays... fake lips, diet, boobs, news, people.. We kinda got used to it sadly..

Lol that's a new way of looking at things.

I like how you think.

very well post dear friend @arunava
I love your post,,

Nice post there @arunava
One of the reasons I stopped using Facebook is because of fake news. Facebook is a place where some nerds just wake up one morning and decide to make up some shitty news just to get cheap likes. I got sick of the 'news' and I stopped using the site you about 8 months.

Yes it was a common occurrence. Not only on Facebook but on WhatsApp too.

I used to get messages like

Forward this to 10 people and your Government will give you 100 INR talk time.

And I am like For Real the Government has nothing better to do.

Lol. How pathetic is someone calling himself God and asking him to like/share his post so as to avoid seven years of bad luck? 😂😂

Yeah, ​that is Lame too. I get those Messages in Whatsapp on a Daily basis.

the decline cannot be prevented without cutting this news

Everything is about Experience @omerserhanozugur the people that are leaving the Ship because of this FUD are the Newbies and they lack experience.

Although I am not a Veteran but I know better that it's not time to sell rather to buy.

This is so very important! When I was a history teacher I always tried to teach my students to check the facts and not believe everything they read. Nowadays this is so important. There is so much fake news and not only recent. Many countries try to rewrite history books.

Rewrite History Books that's a nice thing to say.

I am an Indian and we have two famous Battles in our Bengali History which we remember.

Mahabharata and Ramayana.

But these Days so many Versions of those Battles are coming out that it's hard for me to know which one is real and which one is Fake.

All of the Versions keep the Beginning and the End same but add a lot of Spices in between to make it Entertaining.

It's like making Fake Currency Notes which are not Original because they lack something in them.

I like your comparison, but it is really very sad.
I am a historian, and I have seen so many history books being rewritten or pictures that have been photoshopped. For instance during the revolution in Russia (1917) Trotsky plaid an important role. After the revolution, he fell in disgrace and Stalin removed him from the pictures made during the revolution. As if he never existed.

Stupid politics.

I really feel that the next generations will not even know what our Real history was.

Where we came from and what our Ancestors were like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34