[Suggestion] Steemit Blog Post Collections - A Way to Organize Steemit Content!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

blog.jpg


Above is our current profile setup on Steemit. I would like to start out by saying I absolutely LOVE the ability to personalize the top of my Steemit blog page to reflect the content that I am sharing with the Steemit community!

Steemit is still a young website, and I understand that growth takes time - but dream with me for a moment. What if Steemit profiles had collections...


blog collections.jpg


Blog collections would allow Steemit users the ability to organize their past and future posts by combining them into albums.

If a new follower wants to read/see all of one type of content from you, but doesn't want to dig through months of other posts to find what they are looking for, they could simply click on a blog collection album.

On the above image you will see the profile feed is split - the most recent posts are on the left, and blog collections are on the right. If I had a new fan of my story series Beatrix Percival (a story series I started posting over a year ago), they could easily find all of the chapters by clicking on the "Beatrix Percival" collection, rather than having to dig through my feed to find them one by one. If they liked one of my short stories and wanted to read more, they could open my "Short Stories" collection.

After clicking on the collection it would take them to a new page similar to the old feed, but only with items the profile owner added to that collection - creating a clean way of browsing Steemit content on individual profiles.


blog close up.jpg


Another reason Blog Collections would be great is it would be a way of bringing old content back into the spotlight. Currently I have come to accept that any post I worked hard on a year ago most likely will never be read again, because someone would have to scroll for days to find it (not literally, but you get the idea). Having the ability to organize content would break the feed into categories so that your followers can browse through the one kind of content they are looking for such as "Art", "Poetry", "News", "Photography", "Recipes", etc.


collection ex 2.jpg


For the content creators, when they are creating their masterpiece-of-a-post, they would have the option to choose an existing collection they created, or type a new collection name (pictured above). Or they could skip adding it to a collection at all.

Simply, I think there is a lot of great content on Steemit waiting to be discovered - why not make it a little easier? :)


Thanks for reading:)


Steemit banner image 1.jpg

Sort:  

Great idea

Great solution to a problem I'm also having. I feel i am less likely to want to resteem other people's postss as it just clogs my own blog. I would also like to be able to organise my posts in a different chronology to the date they are posted.It woukd help us present our work better like a portfolio. This would also help get some eyes on older blog posts.

Thank you, @artist1989. This a great idea.
Upvoted hoping the dev team would notice it.

Amazing idea, we need to spread this to the Steemit Team to implement it, i think the community will like it.
Keep up the good work!

excellent idea.
I've done something similar by reposting my earlier works
it seems a shame that you work on something for hours, perhaps days...
and it only receives votes for a few hours...
then it's GONE...down the memory hole.

Reposting an old post is a good idea if the post was missed by many. But I don't get how is that similar to this suggestion.

the similarity is in the making of earlier works visible again.

That is a great idea. I’ve seen other variations of organizing our Steemit “library” but this is the best one.

This is probably the best idea I've heard on the subject. It could be similar to how google plus does collections or pinterest does boards.

People could then follow some of your collections instead of following everything you post. No offense but I probably won't read any short stories but I might be interested in some of your other ideas that I would like to follow, the same goes for most other people I'm following. I would love to just follow some of their posts if you know what I mean.

Still waiting on this. I loved G+ because it had collections and I could easily organize my thoughts ranging from Nostalgia (personal and the world say the 80s and fun stuff they used to sell like Ninja Turtle Pies etc...) to things that tick me off (similar to AVGN's You Know What's BS) and wild out there things like The Saturn Matrix.. G+ made its collections work beautifully, except I don't want to use G+ anymore. I like Steemit, but I want it to have collections just the same.

So +1 more to this idea. Devs, please get on this ASAP. It's no fun viewing all these steemit profiles only to be met with an inconsistent and messy feed.

I actually didn't know G+ called them collections lol. I just chose a term that was different than FB (albums).

It would be fun if they create a way to organize our feeds in the future. I am pretty sure when I tell people that they can "find the other 61 chapters of my story if they dig through my feed" that most likely they won't want to go through the effort/digging (and I don't blame them lol). :)

really good concept and idea for steemit content.

This is a good idea. I might implement something like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30