I Might Lose Some Followers On This One...The Manchester Attacks...

in #steemit7 years ago

Why Are We Feeding It?


The Manchester Attacks..We all know it happened. Everybody does. Also those who didn't watch the news, or was online. Maybe some tribe in the jungle of the amazonas is yet to find out, but they probably feel it.

When the attack happened, everybody is quick to show their love and support for the victims, which is amazing. But to be honest I feel sick when I scroll down on Steemit. I feel sick because people are posting about the attack and earning a few dollars. Why do you feel like you have to earn money on that post? What is it in you that wants to do that? If you REALLY cared about the victims, you would decline the payout. Do you REALLY have to benefit from your post about the attacks?

The News


The news are quick. Within minutes they have transformed their whole frontpage into one big "BREAKING NEWS" sign with flashing lights and all that shit. The news are fucking horrible. They do no good at all. At all! All they do is to create even more fear. And what does ISIS probably want to do. Create fear, and be mentioned. To become famous. And we know that. Yet, we still find ourself clicking on every fucking article that shows you how they did it, when they did, etc.

You Will Know Without Feeding Them


When I say them, I both mean the ISIS but also CNN, FOX and other news channels. It's amazing when stuff like this happens for the news channels. Holy shit I believe they make a ton of money. So we are rewarding the news channels of some young girls death when she was enjoying the best time of her life. At the very same time, we are keeping the whole wheel turning. Because when we read that article we are also making sure they will post about, and make money of it the next time. By making sure they will post about it just as much next time, we are spreading more fear. With every attack ISIS wins.

The Paris Attacks..


Ever since the Paris attacks happened, I have not clicked on an article about some attacks. It's almost impossible to completely avoid, but I try to. I was finding myself watching 2-3 hours of news about the Paris attacks, how it happened, where it happened, why, who and so on. I then asked myself. "What am I gaining from watching this" Absolutely nothing was my answer.

The Paradox..


I know I am creating an article about the attacks now. I know. I just wanted to share my point of view, and maybe make you question yourself when events like this happens. I am not saying you're a bad person if you click, read and watch about these events, because they would probably happen anyway. I am just saying we should consider how much we want to support this horrible business that is making the most money when somebody dies.

Here is a positive picture to end with.

kat.jpg

Thanks for reading. I would love to hear your point of view.

Sort:  

Back at university I got into a fight about something similar. I live in Australia; but if the Sydney Harbour Bridge fell down, or some other major landmark was destroyed... would it really change me on a day to day basis?

The answer is no. The people who made these posts of which you speak were probably also unaffected in their day to day.

If i wasnt already following you... you'd gain a follow for this!

That's a solid point. I believe 99 % maybe more were unaffected. Thanks for the support. I appreciate it.

it's kinda sad... but I also tend to avoid reading into those events... I've spent my fair share of time worrying and researching about the state of the world night after night... it just made me more depressed and didn't give me any answers...

it has become background noise...

You can find just as much good as bad, but bad events sell more than good. That's why we never hear about the good ones :)

I agree... I fully agree... and that's why I avoid paying too much attention, i don't wont to partake in that negative-attention-bias anymore!

Seriously the folks on steemit who just write to "earn cash" are idiots. But back to the story. This is how human brains work. It's a controversial topic. And I myself wrote about it because I felt I had to.

Yes, I know it is how the human mind works, but we can observe the mind. We can observe the pattern, and change it before we do it again, and again, and again.

No - when it comes to life and death you can't change basic instinct. The real disgusting thing is that everyone "shows their love with the victims" what the actual fuck. How can you be with the victims that you do not know. And the other message is - carry the fuck on. How should that work? I think we have to get used to peak blindness and increasing exploitation of dying people.

Nice article indeed. and it's kind of controversial. Not following news may decrease the effect of this kind of terror attacks. However human nature can not ignore death easily.

This kind of terror attacks can not hurt society itself with killing few but hurt its morale and motivation. It is kind of an infectious virus of hatred, and it spreads millions to a single attack by a single terrorist. I sincerely feel sorry for victims.

It is. It's a terrible virus, but we might not have the cure but we have the power to decrease the effects as you say.

The only ones that have bothered me are the ones that are calling it a hoax and pointing out things as an example of the hoax, with no clue what they're talking about. They probably read some conspiracy theory article and are retelling it as they remember.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40