You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DON'T POWER UP - You'll just end up losing it all!

in #steemit6 years ago

I have been powering up, once I figured that it was a good thing to do. But I mostly had my bandwidth problems licked before by doing three things...1) I stopped loading pictures directly to Steemit, and used a hosting site..tinypic...instead 2) I quit revising after I posted. Every time I edited to add a couple punctuation marks, it used the whole bandwidth I used to originally post. So I try, try, try harder to get it all right before I push post and that made a big difference. 3) I just did other things and would stay off during peak hours which is when I had issues and for me was 8-10 AM,

I had no bandwidth problems if I did all three. And yes a lot more SP didn't suck either.

Sort:  

Yeah... # 2 was a real killer for me too. I was posting to DTube , but there isn't a way (other than using a 3rd party site for hosting pics) to edit my associated Steemit post to include pics, so I would have to do the post on DTube and then go into edit it on Steemit and add the pictures after.

It also definitely didn't help that I would have to go back and fix the odd grammar/punctuation problem every now and then too. I think "Proof Read, and then proof read again", eliminating the need for edits is possibly one of the biggest bandwidth savers!

P.S. Are you sure that image size affects bandwidth usage? The way I figured it was that just the text/url pointing to the actual image is what consumed bandwidth allocation.
e.g.
HERE IS SOME TEXT BLAH BLAH BLAH
uses the same amount of bandwidth as
Look here, http://abc.com/image.jpg
even if the image was a 3MB file.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66552.75
ETH 3490.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64